Thread: SSH Permission Denied (publickey)

Beans

SSH Permission Denied (publickey)

I've had the idea to set-up a personal server to easily manage my documents and other minor projects. As I'm fairly new to SSH, I was wondering how to manage keys with multiple devices. Disabling password authentication in favor of public key (RSA) makes it seemingly impossible to add new keys to my server. Currently, my sshd_config file has these functions set:

Code:
    RSAAuthentication yes
    PubkeyAuthentication yes

PasswordAuthentication no
    On one device, I set PasswordAuthentication to "yes," added its public key, and I can connect fine. On another, I cannot send my public key at all: "Permission Denied (publickey)". I realize that the simplest solution, mentioned in a couple forum posts, would be enabling password authentication; but, I am under the impression that RSA is more secure, so I'd prefer using it.

So, I guess my question is twofold:
    a) how can I easily use keys between multiple devices without turning PasswordAuthentication on, or
    b) would using my Linux user password over SSH be less-secure than using RSA?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: SSH Permission Denied (publickey)

This may be a better place to get an answer to your question.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Quote Originally Posted by Elastic_Potential View Post
    I've had the idea to set-up a personal server to easily manage my documents and other minor projects. As I'm fairly new to SSH, I was wondering how to manage keys with multiple devices. Disabling password authentication in favor of public key (RSA) makes it seemingly impossible to add new keys to my server.
    Carry your public and private keys with you and use:

Code:
    ssh-copy-id
    Before disabling password auth.

So, I guess my question is twofold:
    a) how can I easily use keys between multiple devices without turning PasswordAuthentication on, or