Thread: "FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found." Error. Please help.

Beans

"FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found." Error. Please help.

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu and I'm getting sick of not being able to fix this error. I just want to use my wirelss adapter (Netgear WNDA3100). I have ndiswrapper installed through the ubuntu software centre, it works fine until I try to install the driver (from my usb drive) for my adapter. the full error says:

"Module could not be loaded. Error was:

FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.

Is the ndiswrapper module installed?"

I can't find anything useful online, I don't know if this OS just hates me or I'm bad at it being I'm new. I've tried following the first answer (suggestion #2) on this page, but I always get the error:

"tar (child): ndiswrapper.tar.bz2: Cannot open: No such file or directory
    tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    tar: Child returned status 2
    tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now"

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    PC Specs:
    Pentium 4 3ghz
    1026mb DDR RAM
    GeForce FX 5200
    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: "FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found." Error. Please help.

ndiswrapper in 12.04 is broken and the easiest way out is to compile it yourself.
    DONT PANIC at this suggestion, just follow the instructions below.

COMPILE NDISWRAPPER.

Download source from sourceforge :-
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/ndis...d?source=files

Install these from repos:-
    ndisgtk, ndiswrapper-common, ndiswrapper-dkms, ndiswrapper-source and ndiswrapper-utils-1.9
    plus all dependencies.

Ensure you have installed the linux-header packages for your kernel version.

Extract the downloaded tar.gz file and cd to extracted ndiswrapper-1.59 folder

Run these three commands in order:-

sudo make
    sudo make install
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper

Wireless connection should now be available, though you may need to re-install the netgear WNDA3100.inf file.