Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: no audio and unable to run package manager

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

Lightbulb no audio and unable to run package manager

Hello,

I have HP2000 i3 win 8.1 setup to dual boot with ubuntu studio 12.04. I was able to get this to work by having my laptop boot in legacy mode and using boot-repair "recomended fix" and my laptop now boots to grub... everything seemed to be fine

First off I feel that I should give a full disclosure of my trials and tribulations. I have been using different Linux distrobutions for about 10 years.. long time troller, first time poster. Definately NOT expert in shell.

I had problems installing any version above 12.04.. the probem was the display would be non functional. After lots of starting over with different versions I found that 12.04 worked. So it installed properly but the sound didnt work, i figured it was a configuration thing and put it on the back burner. After a couple weeks I am now looking to begin using this distro for some sound production and dove into learning more about it. Long story short, the sound still doesnt work and I cannot run the Package Manager nor can I run any Software Upates. When I open Synaptic I get this error:

E: Encountered a section with no Package: header
    E: Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/us.archive.ubuntu.com_ubuntu_dists_quantal-updates_universe_i18n_Translation-en
    E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.
    E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

any thoughts?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

Re: no audio and unable to run package manager

Why is is mentioning quantal, while you are running precise? Are you running precise?
    Give
    Code:
    lsb_release -drc
    What did you do with package manager? Did you format root partition when you tried diffrent versions?
    You should post package manager problem on more general support forum, it has nothing to do with Ubuntu studio.

No sound?
    Give