Thread: New Notebook - Considering Desktop Linux

Beans

New Notebook - Considering Desktop Linux

Hello All...I have been an IT consultant for the past 21 years and work mostly in Windows server environments basically because that is where businesses typically are at the moment and where the dough is. But I also have been working with UNIX and Linux for quite some time starting with SCO Xenix/UNIX and have several customers using Linux as well. But they are all server environments that work fantastic by the way. Anyway, I have a macbook notebook that I purchased in 2006 that is showing it's signs of age. I am really OS agnostic for the most part and the Mac is mostly used for email, internet, remote desktop, etc. Really nothing specific to Mac OSX. I am not a developer. I also have Windows virtualized on the MAC for apps that need it.

The new macs are fine as far as hardware, etc. And if you compare the cost of a comparable build quality of a Windows/linux notebook it is very close in cost. But I have always had a hard time with the entire controlling Apple Ecosystem and lack of control. And, over the past couple years I have been bucking the trend of being controlled by these technology companies. So I do not want to go down the Apple road again even though the building quality is excellent.

Anyway, I have been trying to find the best Linux notebook with the building quality I am looking for. The System76 and those systems are very nice but lack in certain areas for me. So I am looking at the new Lenovo T440S. Basically, I was thinking of getting the touch version of this device (in the event that linux touch gains traction) and wiping it clean and installing Ununtu as the host. The use the Windows 8.1 license to run via a virtual machine under virtual box or the like for those instances that I need to run Windows. Obviously there might be OEM licensing issues doing this with Microsoft running 8.1 under a VM but if I need to dual boot so be it.