Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu, Like A Rock

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Ubuntu, Like A Rock

I am not trying to steal add time form Ford Motor Company lol but Ubuntu , is , like a rock ! I have been running and testing Ubuntu for over 3 and 1/2 years now and Ubuntu security provides a peace of mind that goes beyond what commercial or other operatings systems are capable of providing.

When I see questionalble stories about Ubuntu security fails ( and yes , they do happen) I have to look at them discreetly and recognize most of them for what they are; a hill of beans!

Ubuntu , thanks.

Regards..
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Ubuntu, Like A Rock

I've now been using *ubuntu since 5.04 and I agree with you totally.

I do not run any anti-virus on my system and never have, though I did install, though never use, clamav whilst I had XP on the machine. However, since I got rid of windows completely about 3 years ago, I haven't bothered with it.

I do not run any servers as a matter of course, just a standard desktop system, so i don't bother about ufw firewall enablement either, and when I need to use ssh between my machines, openssh-server being installed in all of them, I start it manually on the host machine with an alias in terminal, having commented out the line # start on filesystem in /etc/init/ssh.conf which means it does not start at bootup.
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 12.04-64bit --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo

Beans
    Distro