Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Cannot connect to ethernet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    11

    Cannot connect to ethernet

    I have scoured through the Ubuntu forum for the past 2 nights now, and I am completely stumped.

    Here's me problem:

    I have a laptop and an HTPC; both run ubuntu

    I just moved apartments.
    In my last apartment, my HTPC (Zotac Zbox) and laptop never had problems connecting to the internet.
    I had my HTPC plugged in via ethernet cable, and used wifi for my laptop

    Now I moved into my new apartment, and for some reason the laptop runs fine, but the HTPC will not connect to the ethernet

    Any help is greatly appreciated

    here is what happens when I run a ifconfig command:
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:01:2e:47:ee:16  
              inet6 addr: fe80::201:2eff:fe47:ee16/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:24822 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1012 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1584905 (1.5 MB)  TX bytes:203015 (203.0 KB)
              Interrupt:42 Base address:0xc000 
    
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:21067 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:21067 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:1421028 (1.4 MB)  TX bytes:1421028 (1.4 MB)

    I think my problem is that i do not have an "inet addr." under eth0
    Last edited by kevinbrizz; February 10th, 2014 at 10:15 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    Welcome to the forums Kevin!

    Does this HTPC get its IP from a DHCP server? Does the Ethernet seem to be active in Ubuntu?

    Please post back the outputs of the following commands from the HTPC -
    Code:
    sudo lshw -numeric -C network
    nm-tool
    cat /etc/NetwormManager/NetworkManager.conf
    cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    Thanks for the help, I REALLY appreciate it

    Code:
    kevinbrizz@kevinbrizz-ZBOXSD-ID12-ID13:~$ sudo lshw -numeric -C network
      *-network               
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10EC:8168]
           vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. [10EC]
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 03
           serial: 00:01:2e:47:ee:16
           size: 1Gbit/s
           capacity: 1Gbit/s
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix vpd bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=full firmware=rtl_nic/rtl8168d-1.fw latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=MII speed=1Gbit/s
           resources: irq:42 ioport:e800(size=256) memory:fdffb000-fdffbfff memory:fdffc000-fdffffff
      *-network UNCLAIMED
           description: Network controller
           product: Atheros Communications Inc. [168C:37]
           vendor: Atheros Communications Inc. [168C]
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
           version: 01
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
           configuration: latency=0
           resources: memory:feb80000-febfffff memory:feb70000-feb7ffff


    Code:
    kevinbrizz@kevinbrizz-ZBOXSD-ID12-ID13:~$ nm-tool
    
    
    NetworkManager Tool
    
    
    State: connecting
    
    
    - Device: eth0  [Normal] -------------------------------------------------------
      Type:              Wired
      Driver:            r8169
      State:             connecting (getting IP configuration)
      Default:           no
      HW Address:        00:01:2E:47:EE:16
    
    
      Capabilities:
        Carrier Detect:  yes
        Speed:           1000 Mb/s
    
    
      Wired Properties
        Carrier:         on

    Code:
    kevinbrizz@kevinbrizz-ZBOXSD-ID12-ID13:~$ cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    
    
    [main]
    plugins=ifupdown,keyfile
    dns=dnsmasq
    
    
    no-auto-default=00:01:2E:47:EE:16,
    
    
    [ifupdown]
    managed=true


    Code:
    kevinbrizz@kevinbrizz-ZBOXSD-ID12-ID13:~$ cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
    
    
    [main]
    NetworkingEnabled=true
    WirelessEnabled=true
    WWANEnabled=true
    WimaxEnabled=true



    Code:
    kevinbrizz@kevinbrizz-ZBOXSD-ID12-ID13:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
    
    
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    Last edited by kevinbrizz; February 10th, 2014 at 10:15 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    I really don't know what you are asking with your first two questions. Imagine you're walking you're inept cousin through this

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinbrizz View Post
    I really don't know what you are asking with your first two questions. Imagine you're walking you're inept cousin through this
    No problem.

    Does this HTPC and your laptop connect to the same router (or modem) which has both Ethernet and Wireless interfaces? If yes, please post the output of -
    Code:
    nm-tool
    ..from the laptop when it is connected to internet.

    From the output of the same command in the HTPC, it is clear that your wired connection is set to get its IP address from DHCP.

    Just so you know (not necessary right now for our troubleshooting) -

    - DHCP is a software program (a "Network Settings server") that usually (but not necessarily) runs in the Modem or Router that you connect to for Internet access.

    - If this feature is not enabled in the router, the devices (like your HTPC) would try but never get an IP address (or other related settings), thus not being able to connect to the network.

    - Normal Solutions are : 1) Enable DHCP server with relevant settings in the router, Or, 2) Manually assign required settings in the devices instead of relying on DHCP

    There can also be a (problematic) situation where DHCP is enabled, but the device can't get its settings from it. In that case, we have more than one possible fix, but for now, you are not interested in those.

    PS:
    Instead of using 'Quote' tags that you are currently using, please use 'Code' tags for posting command outputs. Please follow the "Using Code Tags" link in my signature below to see how, and edit your above post to change the 'Quote' tags into 'Code' tags.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    Code:
    kevinbrizz@ChrUbuntu:~$ nm-tool
    
    
    NetworkManager Tool
    
    
    State: connected (global)
    
    
    - Device: eth1  [Wired connection 1] -------------------------------------------
      Type:              Wired
      Driver:            tg3
      State:             connected
      Default:           yes
      HW Address:        20:89:84:5E:24:14
    
    
      Capabilities:
        Carrier Detect:  yes
        Speed:           1000 Mb/s
    
    
      Wired Properties
        Carrier:         on
    
    
      IPv4 Settings:
        Address:         67.186.99.90
        Prefix:          23 (255.255.254.0)
        Gateway:         67.186.98.1
    
    
        DNS:             75.75.75.75
        DNS:             75.75.76.76
    
    
    
    
    - Device: wlan0 ----------------------------------------------------------------
      Type:              802.11 WiFi
      Driver:            ath9k
      State:             unavailable
      Default:           no
      HW Address:        F4:B7:E2:A8:44:A5
    
    
      Capabilities:
    
    
      Wireless Properties
        WEP Encryption:  yes
        WPA Encryption:  yes
        WPA2 Encryption: yes
    
    
      Wireless Access Points

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    Is your network is a typical one, where the internet comes via a cable that is plugged into a router/modem, then the modem connects to the local devices via cable and wifi ?
    Is this modem/router under YOUR control?

    From your IP address and netmask, it seems that the access-point is being controlled directly by your ISP (Internet Service Provider)?

    Making a few assumptions, whose validity rely on the answers to above questions, please try the following -

    Open network configuration (Alt-F2 > nm-connection-editor) and,
    go to "Wired" tab > double-click your connection name > goto "IPv6 Settings" "IPv4 Settings" tab > set "Method" to "Manual" > click "Add" button > enter the following details in their respective fields (press 'Enter' after finishing each field, or it won't be accepted) -
    Code:
    Address : 67.186.99.190
    Prefix : 23
    Gateway : 67.186.98.1
    
    DNS servers : 75.75.75.75, 75.75.76.76 (note that there is only one comma followed by a space, rest are dots)
    Save and close the settings. Does it let you connect?

    If not, can you provide a little more detail on how the Internet connection comes into your apartment and distributed to the devices there? The connection type, cable, devices involved?
    Last edited by varunendra; February 12th, 2014 at 09:24 AM. Reason: corrected IPv6 to IPv4
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    My internet comes via a cable that is plugged into a modem, then the modem connects to the local drivers via ethernet chord. (at the moment, I do not have a router)

    I don't know what you are asking when you asked if the modem is under my control

    Also, I could not enter the IPv6 address you gave me. My network configuration window will not allow me to enter "." (periods) between the numbers. The only punctuation it will allow me to use are ":" (colons)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinbrizz View Post
    I don't know what you are asking when you asked if the modem is under my control
    I meant - do you have access to its admin control webgui? So that we can change some of its settings like LAN side IP address, DHCP range etc - if required.

    And for the kind of networking you mentioned, the modem (usually an ADSL one) also has inbuilt router function. But that is not necessary afaik.

    Also, I could not enter the IPv6 address you gave me. My network configuration window will not allow me to enter "." (periods) between the numbers. The only punctuation it will allow me to use are ":" (colons)
    Sorry, that was a terrible mistake (typo). What I suggested was an IPv4 address, not an IPv6 type. Accordingly, please try the same in IPv4 tab, and let us know if it worked.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: Cannot connect to ethernet

    My modem is not under my control


    As for when entering the code in the IPv4 settings:
    My HTPC is telling me that a connection is established, however, I am still unable to load any webpages, refresh my software updater, nor can I 'ping' out to a website

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •