Thread: How much swap space should i use? (UBUNTU 13.10)

Beans

Unhappy How much swap space should i use? (UBUNTU 13.10)

Hello friends,

I am new to ubuntu, my problem is,

I have a intel dual core system with 2GB Ram and 500 GB harddisk.

And at the time of installing ubuntu 13.10(NOT A DUAL BOOT ONLY SINGLE BOOT) i have used swap space only 200mb (actually i dont know how much to put).

Now whenever i browse firefox with morethan 4 or 5 tabs and any 1 or 2 other applications running in background my computer completely freezes (not only one window), I am not able to do any thing(mouse,key board everything freezes).I have to restart system everytime.

So i want to know is this freezing of computer is because of low(i put only 200mb) Swap space or any other thing? And as i read the system requirements in ubuntu site it says that

• 700 MHz processor (about Intel Celeron or better)
    • 512 MiB RAM (system memory)
    • 5 GB of hard-drive space (or USB stick, memory card or external drive but see LiveCD for an alternative approach)
    • VGA capable of 1024x768 screen resolution

is enough for ubuntu.But if comparing my configuration with the above one then definitely my one is higher.So where is the problem?

Please Help Me? Does increasing SWAP Space solve the freezing completely?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: How much swap space should i use? (UBUNTU 13.10)

Welcome to UF.

Your swap is too small. it should be about 2GiB or as much as 4Gib if you want to hibernate your system.

You might also get away with adjusting the 'swappiness. See here for a way to adjust. http://askubuntu.com/questions/10391...ure-swappiness

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

2 GB of RAM is well and truly enough memory. Even if it wasn't, your computer would not completely lock up; it would just get very, very very slow, but the mouse cursor would still move.

A complete system freeze is usually due to one of two things:

1. Faulty RAM chips