Thread: PPA and Repositires - How to know what to trust?

PPA and Repositires - How to know what to trust?

As I've been browsing around the Ubuntu forums and general intetnets, I have seen mentioned PPA's and Repositries. I assume PPA and a Respositiry is the same thing really? but am unsure. Either way, I get how they are used for the apt-get install etc to install packages and apps etc.

What I don't know, is how do you trust them? I don't want to go around adding randomd repositries that may contain malicious codes and the likes, but sometimes its likely that the repositires that I have dont have the apps I'm looking for at the time and stuff. But I don't want to just add some random repositry off the internet.

I'm very particular and rather paranoid when it comes to downloading information from sources I have never used before, seem a little shady, or have VERY little public mention.

~Matt

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: PPA and Repositires - How to know what to trust?

You are quite right to be paranoid. A PPA is a Personal Package Archive. They are a way for developers to make their software available to Ubuntu users.

Personal Package Archives (PPA) allow you to upload Ubuntu source packages to be built and published as an apt repository by Launchpad.
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+ppas

Repositories are sources of software that are maintained by the Ubuntu community. They are a means by which we can download applications and get updates and security fixes. Ubuntu has four "official" repositories.

1) Main - Canonical-supported free and open-Source software.
    2) Universe - Community-maintained free and open-source software.
    3) Restricted - Proprietary drivers for devices.
    4) Multiverse - software restricted by copyright or legal issues.