Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Linux on Mac: dual-booting/single boot and EFI vs. BIOS emulation

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Linux on Mac: dual-booting/single boot and EFI vs. BIOS emulation

This thread is for people running into booting issues when installing Ubuntu on a Mac.

There is a lot of information out there, but I did not find any satisfying one and would appreciate if somebody can explain that in simple words (since Im a newbie).

Its about EFI and where to install the grub boot loader: dual boot vs. single boot linux only. I did not get quite the difference between EFI and Bios emulation, if I dual boot and installed grub on the root partition (\) does that imply I am running a Bios emulation like when you run bootcamp and would install windows? Are people that install only linux on a mac installing grub on the EFI partition?

(Sorry if thats repetition from a previous thread, but any link or clarification is appreciated as that is important for installing linux on a Mac)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Linux on Mac: dual-booting/single boot and EFI vs. BIOS emulation

Your question sounds a simple one, but it is far from simple!
    It depends on many things. For example
    How was the Ubuntu partition created
    On what type of drive (MBR or GPT)
    EFI installation or normal (grub)
    You can install Ubuntu without any grub installation at all if using EFI (by using the terminal command ubiquity -b to install). In such circumstances Ubuntu will boot by using the EFI stub using something like refind (if you install the correct refind driver in the correct place).
    I have no first hand experience of this but I would assume that if you install grub in the Ubuntu's root partition then Ubuntu won't even be a choice in a Mac's boot menu (unless installed in EFI).