Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Setting up and installing LAMP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    4

    Setting up and installing LAMP

    Hi,

    Sorry if this is in the wrong place but am a novice in terms of installing and using things...

    I was following the Lynda.com tutorial on setting up and installing LAMP ("Up and Running with Linux for PHP Developers") and everything ran fine and then I tried to run a command: "sudo mount /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom" but I keep getting the following message: "mount: no medium found on /dev/sr0".

    I don`t know what I have done wrong and I can`t continue on the course until I have worked out how to do things as the next command won`t work...

    Do I need to reboot everything? Or something rediculously simple I have missed?

    Pj.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    10,628
    Distro
    Lubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    Hi, welcome to the fora.

    For installing LAMP you just have to run

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install lamp-server^
    and yes, reboot after that.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    San Antonio, Tx
    Beans
    26
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    what is LAMP, is that on a cd rom?
    "It's easier to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permission"


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    898

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick1971 View Post
    what is LAMP, is that on a cd rom?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LAMP_%...ware_bundle%29

    It's installed from the repositories, using the command mrgs posted above.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    4

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    Yeah, everything should be installed but even after a reboot of whole laptop, I am still getting the "mount: no medium found on /dev/sr0" message when I try and run "sudo mount /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom" part

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    9,508
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    Depending on what version of linux you are running, the cdrom is mapped to device sr0:


    tgalati4@tpad-Gloria7 /dev $ ls -la
    total 4
    drwxr-xr-x 16 root root 4120 2014-01-27 16:05 .
    drwxr-xr-x 21 root root 4096 2013-08-30 14:24 ..
    crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 14, 12 2014-01-25 13:03 adsp
    crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 14, 4 2014-01-25 13:03 audio
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 640 2014-01-25 05:03 block
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 60 2014-01-25 05:03 bus
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 2014-01-25 05:03 cdrom -> sr0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 2014-01-25 05:03 cdrw -> sr0
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 3560 2014-01-27 16:05 char
    crw------- 1 root root 5, 1 2014-01-26 13:25 console
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2014-01-25 05:03 core -> /proc/kcore
    crw-rw---- 1 root root 10, 60 2014-01-25 05:03 cpu_dma_latency
    drwxr-xr-x 6 root root 120 2014-01-25 05:03 disk
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 60 2014-01-25 13:03 dri
    crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 14, 3 2014-01-25 13:03 dsp
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 2014-01-25 05:03 dvd -> sr0

    Also, you can't mount the cdrom unless there is a proper, mountable cd in the tray. Does your cdrom work?
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    4

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    Ah, that may be the issue... The tray certainly works but I don`t have a cd in the tray. Is it that simple?

    Also, I tried the mount statement with sr0 too and also didn`t work so very likely the above is the issue -s

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Jeffreys View Post
    The tray certainly works but I don`t have a cd in the tray. Is it that simple?
    yup. no medium = no CD/DVD [in tray]
    Easy to understand Ubuntu manual with lots of pics: http://ubuntu-manual.org/
    Do i need antivirus/firewall in linux?
    User friendly disk backup: Redobackup

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    4

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    Hmmmm, and if I have a formatted disc in the try and the try works fine, and I STILL get this message, have I missed something?

    Also, do I have to mount to the disc? I have a folder on the desktop which was created during the setup (manually created by me I mean, not by process). Can I mount things to that insteasd of the cdrom or is the cdrom mount a required step usually in setting things up?

    Also, as I just remembered... During the setup of things, the course I was following said to attach the Ubuntu .iso file to the "CD/DVD Drive IDE secondary Master" link. DOes this change what I do with the mount?

    Apologies for all this, but trying to learn and this 1 step just defeating me lol
    Last edited by Paul_Jeffreys; January 28th, 2014 at 02:47 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Setting up and installing LAMP

    what does the course actually do? what are you trying to do? what do you want to achieve? are you trying to install ubuntu linux in a virtual mashcine like for example virtual box?

    as mentioned in ubutnu all you need to do to install lamp is run that one command in terminal on server. after that you need to confirgure PHP database (i use PHPmyadmin for that) and some permissions for certain file folders. and then you are done.: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP

    if you don't want to mess with setting up LAMP and just want to do some work on PHP have a look at Turnkey Linux. it's super easy to use, has virtual images with various stuff preisntalled if you want to run virtual server for example. it's debian stable based. i use it to test some things that i later introduce to my websites. you just start it it will ask a few things to configure (passwords, database names and such) and then you can just run it.
    Easy to understand Ubuntu manual with lots of pics: http://ubuntu-manual.org/
    Do i need antivirus/firewall in linux?
    User friendly disk backup: Redobackup

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •