Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: I can't empty the trash can.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    8

    I can't empty the trash can.

    I noticed my disk space getting lower so I wanted to empty the trash but I got the error message : Error while getting peer-to-peer dbus connection: The name :1.79 was not provided by any .service files. The free disk space still stays the same after that. Is there a solution to this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I can't empty the trash can.

    Try this
    Code:
    cd ~/.local/share/Trash/files
    ls -l
    If something is there, delete what you no longer need with the rm command. Note the . before local and the initial cap on Trash. My carbon-based RAM gives a 404 on the source of your error.
    Last edited by whitesmith; January 24th, 2014 at 08:17 PM.
    In working with *nix...There be dragons. Newcomers: I recommend reading Linux is Not Windows (http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm) and The Linux Command Line (http://www.linuxcommand.org/tlcl.php) before beginning your quest for a better OS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    8

    Re: I can't empty the trash can.

    Thank you I will try that but just wanted to let you know that I used a Backtrack LiveDVD I had and it deleted it with no problems (I navigated to the Trash directory and deleted from there).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    3,026

    Re: I can't empty the trash can.

    I can see absolutely no point for the trash can. It has to be the most useless and annoying feature of any desktop environment. If I want to delete something, I want it gone, not to be moved to another folder. It is probably a crappy design inherited from Windows' recycle bin.

    If you are using Ubuntu or Ubuntu-gnome, open Nautilus, go to edit > Preferences > behaviour and check "include a command of permanently delete" or something like that so next time when you right click and delete things really get deleted. There is a popup warning when you delete so you don't have to worry about deleting stuffs by mistake (There are similar options in other DEs like lxde and kde if you use lubuntu or kubuntu)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •