Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: classic gnome view even when i login with gnome

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    4

    classic gnome view even when i login with gnome

    Hello Everyone,

    This is my first post here so if I am doing any mistakes then please pardon me.

    I recently bought a new machine the Ideapad y410p and installed 12.04 LTS 64 bit. I have installed gnome on it as I don't like unity.

    The problem is that I still get a classic view of gnome( without the search bar/ application quick view when we drag mouse to top left) even when i select 'gnome' and not 'gnome(Classic)' while logging in. In my earlier machine Acer Aspire 5738, this was not an issue and it gave that easy to use interface in one shot.

    Can anybody please help. I am not aware what more information i should share so please hit me and i will share whatever info needed for troubleshooting.


    Thanks

    Nitin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    5,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: classic gnome view even when i login with gnome

    Do you mean you can't seem to run gnome-shell?
    My guess is it's the graphics driver you have which is causing the problem.
    Run
    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA
    Gnome-shell is only slightly less of a graphics hog than unity.
    So, my bet is it'll run better, if it can, with the closed source drivers.
    Post the output of the command above, and we can figure out what to do next.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    4

    Re: classic gnome view even when i login with gnome

    /00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 06)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107M [GeForce GT 750M] (rev ff)

    above is the output of the command lspci | grep VGA. I have tried installing nvidia drivers but sadly they also don't work. I cannot use the optimus feature thus which hurts my battery life too. :/ .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,113

    Re: classic gnome view even when i login with gnome

    Quote Originally Posted by nitin.mahendru88 View Post
    /00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 06)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107M [GeForce GT 750M] (rev ff)

    above is the output of the command lspci | grep VGA. I have tried installing nvidia drivers but sadly they also don't work. I cannot use the optimus feature thus which hurts my battery life too. :/ .
    Two graphics chips?

    I wondered why this would be useful:

    http://www.webupd8.org/2014/01/prime...ly-switch.html

    I see that's only for 14.04 though which is still in development

    Should you decide to give 14.04 (Trusty) a try please ask questions here:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=427

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    5,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: classic gnome view even when i login with gnome

    You need to install bumblebee to get the optimus thingy working correctly,
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Bumblebee

    as you might read in the link, you'll have to add the ppa for version prior to 13.10.
    And as stated by kansasnoob, the development version of Ubuntu, 14.04, will have the prime indicator.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,113

    Re: classic gnome view even when i login with gnome

    Quote Originally Posted by deadflowr View Post
    You need to install bumblebee to get the optimus thingy working correctly,
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Bumblebee

    as you might read in the link, you'll have to add the ppa for version prior to 13.10.
    And as stated by kansasnoob, the development version of Ubuntu, 14.04, will have the prime indicator.
    Great info to keep in the old toolbox :^)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •