Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu Server instead of Debian?

Hybrid View

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Ubuntu Server instead of Debian?

Hi All,

I'm a born again Ubuntu user, on the desktop at least.

I really love the OS, and as far as I'm concerend it's the best out there for desktops (and no doubt, phones tvs and tablets soon).

I have a small web business and I've been using Debian for client hosting for nearly 15 years now and it has never let me down.

I must confess to loving Debian too - the whole community ethos is attractive to me.

Having said all that, I find myself reading more and more about Ubuntu server, and innovative new features like Juju, etc.

I'm now looking at the trusty release as a possible time for change.

Anybody else out there moved from Debian to Ubuntu for client hosting?

I'm looking for rock solid stability first and foremost, although sexy new features are welcome too, as long as the stability is still there.

I'd value any insights that you might have.

Rob

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Ubuntu Server instead of Debian?

Set up a development machine and load the latest Ubuntu server and try out some of the new features. Stability and new features are mutally exclusive, so you have to do a lot of testing to determine if the new features/services are stable enough for your purposes. Juju is aimed at service orchestration, so unless you are managing a lot of remote/virtual machines and have hosting clients that require spinning up additional, on-demand services, then Juju may not help your existing client base.

List out the use cases in your current business (you don't need to share them) and see what new features would help support those use cases. Having at least one Ubuntu server will allow you to migrate clients that want to try the new services.

Share your experiences of what works and what doesn't.
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages