Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    9

    LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    Hi,
    I am looking for help to get internet access from a freshly installed Ubuntu.
    Having read a lot of threads about this around here, I tried to provide as much information as possible below (so pls. accept my excuse for this lengthy post)

    I installed Ubuntu (12.04.3 LTS Release i386) on a Dell Inspiron 1300 Laptop from a USB stick.
    During installation, Ubuntu obviously had internet access, as language packages have been downloaded.
    However, since installation is complete and the system boots from HD, I have problems connecting to the net.
    An ethernet cable directly connects the DSL modem to the laptop.
    (This works perfectly with every other computer in the house.)


    This is how the network is configured: (ifconfig -a)
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet Addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6-Addr: ::1/128 Scope:Machine
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:164 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:164 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX-Bytes:13344 (13.3 KB) TX-Bytes:13344 (13.3 KB)

    Here is some information about the hardware (lspci -nnk | grep -i net -A2)
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX [14e4:170c] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:01c9]
    Kernel modules: b44
    02:03.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4318] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI Card [1028:0005]
    Kernel modules: ssb


    Based on the information I found in similar threads, I also tried the following (without success):

    edit "/var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state" and change it to "NetworkingEnabled=true"
    (this file did not even exist, so I created it with this content)
    I restarted the service afterwards; no connection.

    I tried a different LAN port in the DSL modem, no difference.

    I tried both
    ping -c1 www.google.de
    and
    ping -c1 173.194.113.151 (some Google IP)
    Both did not work, so it's not an issue with the nameservers.

    I should add that after one of several restarts the ethernet connection worked one single time (!),
    without having changed any setting (!) before that specific restart.
    But afterwards it did not work anymore.
    I also tried it at my father's home (for whom the laptop is intended actually), who has a DSL connection
    from a completely different local provider, a different DSL modem and a different ethernet cable.
    So I guess all of these cannot be held responsible for the problem (provider, modem, cable).

    Thanks for any helpful idea!
    floko

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    9

    Question Dell Inspiron 1300: wired connection problems

    Hi,
    I just installed Ubuntu 12.04.3 LTS Release i386 on my father's old laptop, a Dell Inspiron 1300.
    During installation from a USB stick, wired connection worked fine (some language packages have been downloaded obviously).

    But following installation, I had internet access only once after a couple of restarts.
    I then thought everything was fine (setup complete or something like this), and brought the laptop back to my father's home.
    Then again we had no connection via ethernet cable.

    So I took it back to me (because there I had connection at least once before), but ever since it did not work anymore.

    Any idea would could be wrong here?
    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Ísland
    Beans
    9,270
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    Threads merged.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    9

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    Based on similar threads here, I tried to get some more data - pls. see below...
    I just hope someone is able to understand what this means and give me a hint what to try next.
    Thanks!

    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    auto lo
    iface lo
    inet loopback

    ----------

    cat /etc/network/resolv.conf
    file or folder not found

    -----------------

    lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    nls_iso8859_1 12617 1
    usb_storage 48053 1
    bnep 17852 2
    rfcomm 38400 0
    bluetooth 211435 10 bnep,rfcomm
    parport_pc 27612 0
    ppdev 12849 0
    snd_hda_codec_idt 64649 1
    snd_hda_intel 38819 3
    snd_hda_codec 118613 2 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel
    snd_hwdep 13276 1 snd_hda_codec
    joydev 17329 0
    i915 550346 3
    snd_pcm 85934 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    snd_seq_midi 13132 0
    snd_rawmidi 25157 1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event 14475 1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq 51593 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    dell_laptop 17209 0
    psmouse 82769 0
    drm_kms_helper 47749 1 i915
    snd_timer 28931 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    drm 233935 4 i915,drm_kms_helper
    snd_seq_device 14137 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    serio_raw 13031 0
    gpio_ich 13278 0
    dcdbas 14065 1 dell_laptop
    microcode 18433 0
    lpc_ich 17048 0
    i2c_algo_bit 13316 1 i915
    snd 57014 15 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_ hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_se q_device
    soundcore 12600 1 snd
    mac_hid 13077 0
    snd_page_alloc 18398 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    video 19116 1 i915
    lp 17455 0
    parport 40930 3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    /etc/resolv.conf - not /etc/network/resolv.conf
    Quote Originally Posted by floko2 View Post
    An ethernet cable directly connects the DSL modem to the laptop.
    (This works perfectly with every other computer in the house.)
    There is no router in there? Frequently, a modem will "lock onto" a MAC address and must be reset when connected to a different MAC. A router provides a consistent (non-changing) MAC address. Is there a switch/hub attached? Either a router, switch, or hub would be needed to connect more than one computer at a time.

    I'm curious why the interface (eth0?) doesn't appear in ifconfig -a

    If it starts looking like a driver problem, I'm outta my league. Dunno if the B44 is right, or not...
    From my 12.04 machine, /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state:
    Code:
    [main]
    NetworkingEnabled=true
    WirelessEnabled=true
    WWANEnabled=true
    Last edited by Iowan; January 8th, 2014 at 11:34 PM.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    9

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    Thanks, Iowan.
    In both cases (at my father's home and mine), it's a modem with integrated router. Both have multiple ports for LAN cables, so that is probably a hub then...?

    The file you mentioned (/var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state) did not exist on my system after installation.
    I created it (having read about this here) and filled it with "NetworkingEnabled=true".
    When I am back at home this evening I will also add the two addtl. lines you suggested.
    But I wonder if Ubuntu will load/execute what's in there even if it did not exist before?

    Yesterday I also tried running "sudo dhclient eth0" to start the network manager manually, as I read somewhere.
    This resulted in: "cannot find device eth0"
    Does this help finding the cause for the problem in some way?
    Thanks again!
    Last edited by floko2; January 9th, 2014 at 09:20 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    You are not going to be able to ping anything because your network adapter is not up or even seen by the system. the ifconfig results you posted are only showing a loopback connection labled "lo" and that seems to be fine. the results you are needing should be similat but labled something like eth0 with the Link showing HWaddr and the mac address rather than loopback

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    Also when you say you are connecting straight to a modem, is this a modem with a build in router? At both location?
    Are you trying to connect via DHCP? PPOE?
    Does this connection require authenticating each time or is it always on and ready?
    Have you considered its the router and not the laptop? Have you reset the router/modem? And then tried?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    9

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    Thanks mark65ak for your thoughts!
    Yes, both modems (although from different brands) have built in routers.
    Honestly, I don't know which way I'm trying to connect. I suppose it's DHCP...
    I don't think it requires authentication because I can plug the cable to a different laptop and it works without problems or further set up.
    It's not the modem because both modems work fine with different laptops (and worked even fine with this very laptop when there still was Windows running on it).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: LAN/Internet will not work on Dell Inspiron 1300

    Sorry for the redundant questions I see now you aready answered.

    In regards to /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state the machine I am on now is like a 7 year old Gateway laptop that came with Vista anf that file does not exist and I rarely if ever have had network issues with this machine, though it has plenty in other ways.

    I also have dell insiration mini and it does have it. Very much like Iowans with the addtion of a 4th key pair WimaxEnable=true

    I have no clue what this file is for but it appears it's not needed for networking.

    In regards to /etc/network/interfaces mine is on 2 lines. Not sure it that makes a difference
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •