Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Preparing for the Video Chat meeting on 23 January 2014

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Post Preparing for the Video Chat meeting on 23 January 2014

    Happy New Year Everybodeee!At the last IRC meeting in November we came up with the idea to try aVideo Chat(1) for our next meeting on Thursday, 23 January 2014.But what video chat software should we use?The Ubuntu Developer Summit meetings use Google Hangouts. But that's notFAIF software, and requires people to have a Google Plus account.José Antonio Rey (LoCo Council member from Peru!) and I tried to videochat over the open standards XMPProtocol (I used the Jitsi applicationfrom https://jitsi.org/; don't know what José used). We could see eachother, but didn't get sound to work. But given a bit more time, thatcould be fixed. The Jitsi demo of a video chat looks pretty impressive:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-YGw3bgB_sThere's the open source Big Blue Button http://bigbluebutton.org/although that looks like it's intended for a classroom more than a videochat.And, of course, there's Skype and Facebook, but both of those arenon-FAIF and require accounts on their services.Skype: http://www.skype.com/en/download-skype/skype-for-linux/Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/videocallingSo, over the next week let me know what your preferred video chatsoftware is. I'll tally up the results next Friday (10 January).1st choice = 3 points2nd choice = 2 points3rd choice = 1 pointChoose from Google Hangouts XMPP (Jitsi, Pidgin, Empathy, & other apps should interoperate) Big Blue Button Skype Facebook Video CallingOnce we've picked the video chat software maybe the local chapterscould hold an Ubuntu Hour. That would give people a chance to iron outany kinks with the software.We can discuss the video chat on the Ubuntu-ca mailing list. The list isa great place to ask for help if you can't get your webcam or microphoneworking, or need help installing software. If you're not already on theUbuntu-ca mailing list you can join athttps://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/ubuntu-caI'm sending this message to several Ubuntu chapter mailing lists as wellas the Launchpad Ubuntu-ca membership, so please pardon me if you shouldget this multiple times.See you all online!--Bob, who wonders if Chat Roulette is still a thing...bjonkman@sobac.com(1) "ACTION: Schedule a video chat for Ubuntu Canada"https://wiki.ubuntu.com/CanadianTeam/Meetings/2013/2013-11-28#line-48

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Video Chat meeting on 23 January 2014

    Hello everybodeee! Tommorow is the big day for the Ubuntu Canada
    Video Chat. Based on the feedback, we'll be using Google Hangouts for
    our chatting software. You'll need a Google Plus account, and you'll
    need to install the Google Talk plugin for Chrome (or Chromium).

    I haven't tried Google Hangouts with other browsers -- if someone has
    experience with that, can you post encouraging words on the Ubuntu-ca
    mailing list?

    If you prefer to stick to the traditional text-only IRC then it'll
    still be there as a back channel. I'll do my best to transcribe any
    conversation so it gets logged with the other meeting minutes.

    If you have a moment, please register on the LoCo portal. It's
    optional, but it'll make our stats look good for re-approval.

    See you all on Thursday!


    Date: Thursday, 23 January 2014
    Time: 8:30pm NST, 8:00pm AST, 7:00pm EST, 6:00pm CST, 5:00pm MST,
    4:00pm PST
    Video: Google Hangout (URL will be announced on IRC)
    IRC: irc://irc.freenode.net/#ubuntu-ca
    IRC Webchat: http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=ubuntu-ca
    LoCo Portal: http://loco.ubuntu.com/events/ubuntu-ca/2652/detail/
    Agenda: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/CanadianTeam...014/2014-01-23


    --Bob.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •