Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    1,985

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Just unzip the file and click neXt.x86_64 (64 bit) or neXt.x86(32 bit) to start. No installation required.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    1,985

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by efflandt View Post
    The only issue I had was, how do you get Archive Manager to preserve directories? It extracted all files to my Downloads directory with no subdirectories
    Do you use Lubuntu? This appears to be a feature/bug of pcmanfm (unzipped zipped file contents get scattered all over the places). I have no such issue with Nautilus even using the same file roller. Not sure if a bug has been filed.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2196967

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    1,985

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by rnsd View Post
    Thanks for all the replies folks. Do you have to run that command as root?

    When I run it in the terminal non root I get the command not found song and dance.

    This is the results of ldd neXt.x86_64


    guest1@guest1-desktop:~/downloads/nextlinux$ ldd neXt.x86_64
    linux-vdso.so.1 => (0x00007fff831ff000)
    libGLU.so.1 => /usr/lib/libGLU.so.1 (0x00007f1bc151d000)
    libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib/mesa/libGL.so.1 (0x00007f1bc129c000)
    libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0x00007f1bc0f65000)
    libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0x00007f1bc0d53000)
    libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcursor.so.1 (0x00007f1bc0b49000)
    libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x00007f1bc0944000)
    libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x00007f1bc0727000)
    librt.so.1 => /lib/librt.so.1 (0x00007f1bc051f000)
    libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x00007f1bc029b000)
    libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x00007f1bc0084000)
    libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x00007f1bbfcfd000)
    /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007f1bc17ab000)
    libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0x00007f1bbf9e8000)
    libXxf86vm.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXxf86vm.so.1 (0x00007f1bbf7e2000)
    libXdamage.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXdamage.so.1 (0x00007f1bbf5df000)
    libXfixes.so.3 => /usr/lib/libXfixes.so.3 (0x00007f1bbf3d8000)
    libdrm.so.2 => /lib/libdrm.so.2 (0x00007f1bbf1cd000)
    libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxcb.so.1 (0x00007f1bbefb1000)
    libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0x00007f1bbeda6000)
    libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXau.so.6 (0x00007f1bbeba2000)
    libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXdmcp.so.6 (0x00007f1bbe99b000)
    :~/downloads/nextlinux$
    No don't need root and don't need to use the terminal at all. Just right click it (make sure it is allowed to be executed as program, again right click > Properties > Permission) Why are you guys making things so complicated?
    Last edited by monkeybrain20122; January 4th, 2014 at 09:35 AM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    15

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    I put the link in the other post like it should have been.

    No I haven't done any chmod commands.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    15

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by monkeybrain20122 View Post
    No don't need root and don't need to use the terminal at all. Just right click it (make sure it is allowed to be executed as program, again right click > Properties > Permission) Why are you guys making things so complicated?
    It simply is not working for me it does nothing when I click it or run it in the terminal.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    15

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by efflandt View Post
    Yes, but of course if the binary is not in your $PATH you cd to the "Linux x86+64bit" dir and then: ./neXt.x86_64 runs it (in 64-bit 12.04 on PC in my sig).

    What graphics are you using? I know when I was doing some graphics benchmarks on a new laptop with 64-bit 13.10 and combo Intel HD 4600/Nvidia GTX 765M graphics, not all of the benchmarks would run with the Intel video, but they did with nvidia.

    My graphics card is the Intel Corporation 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    365
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    I don't think that's powerful enough. I have a Asus GTX 770...
    Do
    ./n*64
    in a terminal and paste the output.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    15

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeCyber View Post
    I don't think that's powerful enough. I have a Asus GTX 770...
    Do
    ./n*64
    in a terminal and paste the output.
    Here is the results of that

    /downloads/neXt64$ ./n*64
    Set current directory to /home/guest1/downloads/neXt64
    Found path: /home/guest1/downloads/neXt64/neXt.x86_64
    Mono path[0] = '/home/guest1/downloads/neXt64/neXt_Data/Managed'
    Mono path[1] = '/home/guest1/downloads/neXt64/neXt_Data/Mono'
    Mono config path = '/home/guest1/downloads/neXt64/neXt_Data/Mono/etc'
    Aborted
    guest1@guest1-desktop:~/downloads/neXt64$

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    5,990

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeCyber View Post
    I don't think that's powerful enough. I have a Asus GTX 770...
    Nope it's fine, I just tested it on my old laptop with the same GPU and it runs ok, get the odd message about a skipped frame now and again but it runs ok.

    I can launch the app by clicking on it in thunar or doing ./neXt.x86 from a terminal.

    @rnsd

    Do you have mesa installed and opengl working correctly?
    Last edited by mips; January 4th, 2014 at 12:44 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    15

    Re: neXt RC Simulator for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by mips View Post
    Nope it's fine, I just tested it on my old laptop with the same GPU and it runs ok, get the odd message about a skipped frame now and again but it runs ok.

    I can launch the app by clicking on it in thunar or doing ./neXt.x86 from a terminal.

    @rnsd

    Do you have mesa installed and opengl working correctly?
    I'm not sure about mesa and opengl. How do I check?

    my Intel G910 vid card works OK with Phoenix on windows although it wont' do the new 2D landscapes in Phoenix it does run Phoenix with things set to low though. And runs Heli-X in Ubuntu 10.04.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •