Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Cancelling a VM build created memory leak

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Beans
    2

    Cancelling a VM build created memory leak

    I made a mistaaaaaaaaaaaake!

    What is the preferred course of action when cancelling the creation of a virtual machine doesn't free the space that was to be allocated for it? Today I tried to create a VM, allocating 2GB of RAM and 350GB of disk space. While creating it, however, I had cold feet and cancelled the process. Now I have no virtual machine, and GParted is informing me that those 350GB are in use. Is there a way to get them back?

    Ubuntu 13.10, System76 laptop, and let me know if there's anymore information you need.
    Last edited by jauntyjoshy; December 25th, 2013 at 10:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Human Monument Project
    Beans
    3,470
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cancelling a VM build created memory leak

    What kind of vm was it?
    Virtualbox or something?

    If virtualbox, it makes a folder in the home folder called Virtualbox VMs
    you can delete the folder within for the vm you started to build.
    Of course the above question would have to be in fact virtualbox.
    Don't know about where other virtualization progams store such stuff.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Beans
    2

    Re: Cancelling a VM build created memory leak

    Quote Originally Posted by deadflowr View Post
    What kind of vm was it?
    Virtualbox or something?

    If virtualbox, it makes a folder in the home folder called Virtualbox VMs
    you can delete the folder within for the vm you started to build.
    Of course the above question would have to be in fact virtualbox.
    Don't know about where other virtualization progams store such stuff.
    It was indeed a VirtualBox VM. The folder you mention doesn't appear to exist, though. I must have cancelled the build before it could create a directory for that particular machine...

    After further inspecting my disk usage, I've found a file within my eCryptFS that is ~350GB in size. If I delete this file, will my problem roughly be solved? I get the sense from the Googling I've done that the eCryptFS should be tampered with at one's own risk.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •