Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    17

    Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

    To open a terminal I use the shortcut ctrl+alt+t. However, sometimes I have to press that combination several times for it to work. Is there a solution to this? Before, on the same hardware, I've not had a problem with this. Note that I'm using Ubuntu 13.10.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    4,827
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

    seems to be some what complicated issue. use keylogger to check whether your keys are recording or not by using some keylogger software. search software center for that.
    Raja

    రాజ శేఖర్ రెడ్డి

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

    keymon will help you determine if the key presses are being registered.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install keymon
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

    Quote Originally Posted by stinkeye View Post
    keymon will help you determine if the key presses are being registered.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install keymon
    I installed it an the keys are indeed being registered. Any other ideas for debugging?

    Has anyone else seen this behavior?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

    May be a focus issue.
    Used to see this when I had conky on the desktop.
    I would have to click on the desktop first or have at least one window open for shortcut keys to work.
    When shortcuts wouldn't work the global menu would still be showing the last closed app instead of returning to "Ubuntu Desktop".
    Last edited by stinkeye; December 24th, 2013 at 01:29 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

    thanks for the replies. I guess I'll have to live with it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Ctrl+alt+T sometimes have to do it four times

    Quote Originally Posted by rocky-oceans View Post
    thanks for the replies. I guess I'll have to live with it.
    Do you have anything running on the desktop?
    What worked for me was to give the conky window no focus in ccsm.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •