Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: setting up a static IP address for my server

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: setting up a static IP address for my server

    Another question...
    Is the server using wireless or wired?

    Reason for asking:
    The above instructions should be altered for wlan0 or eth0.
    (My laptop calls the wireless card eth1)
    Last edited by Iowan; December 22nd, 2013 at 04:46 AM.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: setting up a static IP address for my server

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post
    DO NOT use a static IP in the range given out by your router for DHCP addresses.
    I wish to repeat the warning: take care not to set an IP address on your Ubuntu box that could conceivably be handed out by your router's DHCP services, otherwise there is a risk that the router will assign the IP address to different machine to the one that you want to use the IP address.
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    179

    Re: setting up a static IP address for my server

    I think that it is set to DHCP, isn't it? I did not define the gateway or IP.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    179

    Re: setting up a static IP address for my server

    It is using a wireless usb adapter.
    And I changed it so that the router only hands out up to 192.168.1.170. My server's is 171.
    in my dhcp connections, I have then mac address of the server, the ip address, and the lease type. i have it set to static, .171, and the mac address of the server. what should this entry for the server look like? wouldn't this not work since it can only go up to 170?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,592
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: setting up a static IP address for my server

    I made a slight mistake in my suggestion above, I apologize. Please try:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
      address 192.168.1.231 
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      gateway 192.168.1.1
      dns-nameservers 192.168.1.1
      wpa-ssid <your_router_ssid>
      wpa-psk <your_secret_key>
    Now do:
    Code:
    sudo ifdown wlan0 && sudo ifup -v wlan0
    The -v switch makes the process verbose so you can see if there are any errors, warnings, oopsies, et al.
    Code:
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    179

    Re: setting up a static IP address for my server

    I apologize for the double post. Thanks for your help, Chili!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •