Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: mencoder/static ffmeg

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    16

    mencoder/static ffmeg

    Is there a way to use mencoder to make a mkv a mpg? I also have static ffmpeg but can't remember how to use it. I'm running 11.04 without internet. So right now I'm using mencoder to make a mkv an avi then making it mpg. Just want to cut out the extra step.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: mencoder/static ffmeg

    Use avconv now instead of ffmpeg (unless you have compiled your own ffmpeg or have the static version) with command
    Code:
    avconv -i file.mkv -vcodec mpeg2video -q 5  -ab 128k file.mpg
    If using static ffmpeg you need to run command from the folder where the ffmpeg is sitting
    Code:
    ./ffmpeg -i file.mkv -vcodec mpeg2video -sameq -ab 128k outfile.mpg
    Don't forget the ./ before ffmpeg at the start or the static version will not run.
    Last edited by ajgreeny; December 21st, 2013 at 12:25 AM.
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 14.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    16

    Re: mencoder/static ffmeg

    Will the second command work if I replace that mp4 with mkv?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: mencoder/static ffmeg

    Quote Originally Posted by mcgill.carpenter View Post
    Will the second command work if I replace that mp4 with mkv?
    Yes, it should. Sorry about that typo; I've edited and corrected it now. I quickly copied that command from one I used a few days ago but forgot to edit it to fit your question.
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 14.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    16

    Re: mencoder/static ffmeg

    Hmm. It says in red. Option 'sameq' was removed. If you are looking for an option to preserve the quality (which is not what -sameq was for), use -qscale 0 or an equivalent quality factor option.
    Failed to set value '1' for option 'sameq' : Invalid argument
    Error parsing global options: Invalid argument

    I've no idea what this means. Unless I'm just suppose to replace it with -qscale 0.
    Last edited by mcgill.carpenter; December 21st, 2013 at 12:49 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    3,525

    Re: mencoder/static ffmeg

    Quote Originally Posted by mcgill.carpenter View Post
    Is there a way to use mencoder to make a mkv a mpg? I also have static ffmpeg but can't remember how to use it. I'm running 11.04 without internet. So right now I'm using mencoder to make a mkv an avi then making it mpg. Just want to cut out the extra step.
    Code:
    ./ffmpeg -i input.mkv -codec:v mpeg2video -codec:a mp2 -qscale:v 2 -b:a 192k -ac 2 output.mpg
    "-qscale:v 2" should suffice for this encoder. Anything lower may cause many "buffer underflow" messages in the console output. "-qscale:v 2" may show the messages as well, but you can probably ignore them.

    Quote Originally Posted by ajgreeny View Post
    If using static ffmpeg you need to run command from the folder where the ffmpeg is sitting
    Code:
    ./ffmpeg -i file.mkv -vcodec mpeg2video -sameq -ab 128k outfile.mpg
    Don't forget the ./ before ffmpeg at the start or the static version will not run.
    Again, -sameq does not mean "same quality" and has been removed from ffmpeg (you must have missed my previous response to your -sameq recommendation). This option should not be used in 99% of cases.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •