Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lubuntu slow loading browser, new pages, programs

Beans

Lubuntu slow loading browser, new pages, programs

My computer is a Dell 4300, Pentium 4 1.6 GB with 636 MB Ram and a SATA HD 160 GB. Lubuntu 13.1. Installation via iso disk.

The system is up and running fine.....except that it is terribly slow loading the browser or new pages. I use Chromium but Fire Fox is the same. In fact programs tend to be slow to load.

I used Task Manager to look at the CPU and RAM usage during the browser opening. Memory wasn't taxed, using less than half the 621 MB available. However, the CPU is maxed out at 100% during the loading.

I chose Lubuntu since it is the light version....vs regular Ubuntu. I also tried Puppy linux with the same result.

Help. Is this a hardware problem? or is there possibly some setting of Lubuntu that I have overlooked.

PS: I am a computer user-programmer since 1960 worked with every MS OS since DOS. But, I'm fairly new to Linux. Though, I've had Ubuntu on a computer for several years...just playing with it. Am trying to get more proficient.

Thanks,

Ken

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

Re: Lubuntu slow loading browser, new pages, programs

Hi Ken and welcome to Lubuntu and the forums.

Thanks for posting with sufficient HW specs and important details to give us a good head start. What I'm wondering is: what do you mean by slow? Can you give us a rough estimate of how long it takes to load? Actually time it if you can. Also, how many tabs do you typically inherit from prior sessions and have to open during invocation? Last but not least, once you have either of the browsers running and it is well into its slow mode, please open a terminal and post output of
    Code:
    cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
    Code:
    free -m
    Code:
    top -in3