Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    10

    Question Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

    My computer, running ubuntu 10.04, is connected via ethernet to a router(DLink DI-524) I used to create a wlan.

    There is only another computer using the wireless network - and that computer is able to load facebook page normally.

    On my computer, **I can load any page I've tried so far, except facebook**, whose page request seems to be completely ignored(I don't get even a 'page not found').

    So:

    1. 1 router, 2 PCS, - one using wireless, the other using ethernet.
    2. Internet on wireless PC runs normally.
    3. On the ethernet PC everything, **except facebook(which doesn't
    open)**, works normally.

    Can anyone help me to fix this?

    I'm willing to post output of any commands you guys ask.

    Thanks

    PS: When I disable the router as 'middleman'(dismantle the wlan) and use just the modem connected via ethernet to my PC I can load facebook normally. I guess this is an extra clue.


    Update 1: I found that facebook apparently does not work only when I'm already logged in.
    If I'm logged out the initial page for login loads normally. Then I login and for that moment on nothing loads.
    Also I found out that I cant POST anything here at these boards when logged at the wlan, neither can post anything in askubuntu


    Update 2 :
    1)Just something I forgot to add: the pc for which the wireless works is using windows 7
    2) Links to super user and wireshark questions
    http://superuser.com/questions/68673...st-on-some-for
    http://ask.wireshark.org/questions/2...ings-on-forums

    wireshark:
    A) Logging on facebook while connected directly to the modem: http://s12.postimg.org/cph9ybpb1/facebook_wo_wlan.png
    B) Trying(didn't work) to log on facebook while connected to the router: http://s30.postimg.org/8makj4is1/facebook_w_wlan.png
    I see a difference (apparently a lot of bad checksum packages) but I don't know if that's the problem or how to fix it





    3) traceroute - I noted nothing different, just the expected extra hop between the router and the modem

    With working configuration ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    $ traceroute facebook.com
    traceroute to facebook.com (173.252.110.27), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 192.168.254.254 (192.168.254.254) 1.114 ms 1.581 ms 2.068 ms
    2 200-217-90-91.host.telemar.net.br (200.217.90.91) 44.663 ms 46.606 ms 49.707 ms
    3 xe-6-2-0.0-mpi-mg-rotn-j01.telemar.net.br (200.164.13.91) 51.749 ms 53.683 ms 56.564 ms
    4 so-0-1-0.0-gua-sp-rotn-j01.telemar.net.br (200.164.197.213) 76.728 ms 81.827 ms so-9-1-0.0-bot-rj-rotn-j01.telemar.net.br (200.223.44.161) 71.750 ms
    5 BA199060242.user.veloxzone.com.br (200.199.60.242) 197.539 ms 200.223.41.246 (200.223.41.246) 198.533 ms BA199060242.user.veloxzone.com.br (200.199.60.242) 202.593 ms
    6 xe-5-0-1.br01.mia1.tfbnw.net (103.4.96.12) 201.588 ms 178.859 ms 172.916 ms
    7 ae7.bb02.atl1.tfbnw.net (204.15.23.252) 204.205 ms ae14.bb02.atl1.tfbnw.net (31.13.29.74) 207.960 ms 210.873 ms
    8 ae13.bb04.frc1.tfbnw.net (204.15.20.75) 229.908 ms ae10.bb04.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.27.114) 209.036 ms ae16.bb01.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.27.118) 239.212 ms
    9 ae1.dr01.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.24.15) 227.713 ms ae1.dr04.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.27.80) 209.803 ms ae39.dr02.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.27.57) 205.937 ms
    10 * * *
    11 * * *
    12 edge-star-shv-13-frc1.facebook.com (173.252.110.27) 186.110 ms 184.008 ms 191.134 ms


    With non working configuration-----------------------------------------------------------------------

    $ traceroute facebook.com
    traceroute to facebook.com (173.252.110.27), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 192.168.0.33 (192.168.0.33) 0.428 ms 0.440 ms 0.489 ms
    2 192.168.254.254 (192.168.254.254) 1.608 ms 2.029 ms 2.455 ms
    3 200-217-90-91.host.telemar.net.br (200.217.90.91) 45.727 ms 47.704 ms 48.647 ms
    4 xe-6-2-0.0-mpi-mg-rotn-j01.telemar.net.br (200.164.13.91) 51.746 ms 54.589 ms 56.472 ms
    5 so-0-1-0.0-gua-sp-rotn-j01.telemar.net.br (200.164.197.213) 73.683 ms ge-6-3-0.0-arc-rj-rotn-j01.telemar.net.br (200.223.46.195) 80.787 ms xe-14-0-0.0-bot-rj-rotn-j01.telemar.net.br (200.223.46.193) 72.711 ms
    6 xe-7-1-0.0-mia-us-rotb-j01.telemar.net.br (200.223.46.142) 210.554 ms BA199060242.user.veloxzone.com.br (200.199.60.242) 206.759 ms xe-5-0-0.0-mia-us-rotb-j01.telemar.net.br (200.223.154.158) 174.927 ms
    7 xe-5-0-1.br01.mia1.tfbnw.net (103.4.96.12) 178.767 ms 179.626 ms 182.737 ms
    8 ae7.bb02.atl1.tfbnw.net (204.15.23.252) 211.780 ms 213.683 ms be25.bb02.dca1.tfbnw.net (173.252.64.90) 207.889 ms
    9 ae13.bb04.frc1.tfbnw.net (204.15.20.75) 227.732 ms 238.767 ms ae16.bb01.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.27.118) 246.646 ms
    10 ae1.dr02.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.24.19) 198.745 ms ae40.dr02.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.27.69) 219.685 ms ae1.dr02.frc1.tfbnw.net (31.13.24.19) 212.584 ms
    11 * * *
    12 * * *
    13 edge-star-shv-13-frc1.facebook.com (173.252.110.27) 186.997 ms 192.703 ms 191.748 ms
    Last edited by galmeida; December 12th, 2013 at 04:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    27

    Re: Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

    While connected to the WLAN, can you run 'nslookup facebook.com' and post the output? Also, what is the output of ifconfig?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

    Update: I found that facebook apparently does not work only when I'm already logged in.
    If I'm logged out the initial page for login loads normally. Then I login and for that moment on nothing loads.
    Also I found out that I cant POST anything here when logged at the wlan


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ~$ nslookup facebook.com
    Server: 192.168.254.254
    Address: 192.168.254.254#53

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: facebook.com
    Address: 173.252.110.27
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 54:04:a6:68:ed:73
    inet addr:192.168.0.144 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::5604:a6ff:fe68:ed73/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:329590 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:264228 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:385714067 (385.7 MB) TX bytes:35999681 (35.9 MB)
    Interrupt:28 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:5061 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5061 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:798189 (798.1 KB) TX bytes:798189 (798.1 KB)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    In my skin.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

    Just an off-topic note: 10.04 LTS is no longer supported (hasn't been since April). You will receive neither regular updates or, more importantly, security updates. I would advise upgrading to a supported release (12.04 LTS is supported until April 2017).

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    27

    Re: Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

    That's good that your DNS is working then. This is definitely a weird issue!

    When confirming that the webpages work or not, make sure you refresh by holding down the 'Ctrl' key and then hitting 'F5'. That way you won't be seeing any copies of old webpages that your browser saved.

    Can you try doing 'traceroute www.facebook.com'? Also, run traceroute to a website that you haven't had issues connecting to previously. Is there any difference there? You can also try tracerouting to facebook when you are both logged in and logged out, although it seems like a stretch to think that they would be different!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

    I posted the traceroute on update 2. I can't see anything wrong. I thought maybe wireshark could give a clue, but I don't know what to look for(and I'm not a network expert..). posted a link to the wireshark 'stackoverflow' question I created, together with screenshots of both working and non working configurations

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate Development Release

    Re: Facebook won't open just on one PC at home network

    Any specific browser plugins or extensions on this computer ? If using noscript, I had to recently add an exception to one of FB stuff otherwise the page would appear blank.
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •