Thread: CGMiner Install problems (but also my learning disability?).

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

CGMiner Install problems (but also my learning disability?).

I haven't posted here in quite a while since the credentials system was compromised and I kept getting an infinite loop that I was finally able to figure out. Anyway, my problem is that I can not figure out how to simply install some BitCoin mining software called CGMiner. I have been using Ubuntu for a few years now and I still feel like a beginner. Every time I try to learn how to do something new with my Ubuntu machine by reading other users instructions and guides, I feel like they, every single time, assume the reader already knows how to do related tasks which are necessary prerequisites, or they assume that certain details can be left out for some reason. I don't understand how anyone ever learns how to do anything using the command line interface when I've yet to read a single guide that doesn't exclude something important.

I first looked for GCMiner in the Ubuntu software center but it wasn't there. After a search, I found the CGMiner downloads web page and, because of a lack of instructions there or anywhere else, I had to guess which package was the right one for my system. After decompressing the tar.bz or whatever it happened to be, I found a file inside containing "instructions" on how to install and use CGMiner. Long story short there, the instructions leave out many pre-requsite steps, such as installing other software that CGMiner depends upon to function and I am not able to find those instructions anywhere else. I basically just need help with the entire process of installing CGMiner. What I'm looking for is a set of instructions that include, literally, everything that I need to do in order to install it.