Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    349

    Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    Well the title says it... I used the live CD and intended to install 13.10 ALONGSIDE 12.04 and instead it overwrote it. I'm sure that I chose the right partition and chose the option to have both file systems but for some reason it errored. Anyway, I have 13.10 running and it is good, all my files were kept mostly and my NTFS partion IS still showing up in gparted so it has not been overwrote I just have no way of accessing it, no icon or menu selection. I checked synaptic and the forums and have not gotten any help so far. Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI USA
    Beans
    86
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    Is it still in your fstab (/etc/fstab)? It's not being mounted automatically, is my first thought. Here are some great fstab docs to get you moving in the right direction.
    Last edited by rackit; December 10th, 2013 at 05:38 AM.
    Regards,
    Jerry Gartner
    Get a 3% discount for TeamViewer by entering coupon code 90055-83-028728 at checkout on teamviewer.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    349

    [SOLVED] Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    I added the UUID to the fstab manually and ran 'mount -a' and got this result:

    Mount is denied because the NTFS volume is already exclusively opened.
    The volume may be already mounted, or another software may use it which
    could be identified for example by the help of the 'fuser' command.


    I don't know what fuser is but does this make any sense?

    BTW I'm not sure if I added the fstab entry correctly, here's what I added:

    #NTFS partition
    UUID=0F7E28FD4094875B none ntfs

    I couldn't think of a mount point so i just put none and the UUID's of NTFS are different than ext4 filesystems?
    Last edited by howefield; October 12th, 2014 at 11:45 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI USA
    Beans
    86
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    An example that might work:
    UUID=0F7E28FD4094875B /media/windows ntfs defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0 this will mount it in /media/windows ad it and reboot.
    Regards,
    Jerry Gartner
    Get a 3% discount for TeamViewer by entering coupon code 90055-83-028728 at checkout on teamviewer.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    13,132

    Re: Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    What version of Windows are you running? If it's Win8, that message means that your Windows partition is hibernated -- and since, under Win8, that means it remains mounted, Linux won't let you mount it again. You have to disable hibernation in order to mount that partition in Linux.
    Ubuntu 15.04 Mate, Mint 17.1; MS Win 8.1, Win10 TP.
    Will not respond to PM requests for support -- use the forums.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    349

    [SOLVED] Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    I am not using windows at all and have not had windows on this comp in 7 years so I doubt it is related to that... I noticed after editing the fstab I started getting "mount denied" whereeas before 'mount -a' wouldn't give anything back. overnight I used gparted to clone the ntfs partition, here's the weirder part... while the partions were being cloned, the NEW NTFS showed up on the desktop UNTIL the operation was complete, then it went away, now I get TWO "mount denied" messages since I now have two NTFS's. I'm going to delete one, but I think this shows fsab may be the prob, I would re-edit with those commands but I don't like having windows as a mount point, is that my only choice? thanx again for the help!!

    I changed one NTFS partition the way Jerry suggested and left the other alone, this is the result with 'mount -a':fuse:

    failed to access mountpoint none: No such file or directory
    mount: mount point 0 does not exist
    fuse: failed to access mountpoint /media/windows: No such file or directory
    mount: mount point 0 does not exist

    I guess fstab is not the problem maybe?
    Last edited by howefield; October 12th, 2014 at 11:46 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    5,611

    Re: Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    If you did this:
    UUID=0F7E28FD4094875B /media/windows ntfs defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
    *** Run the following command to get the correct UUID number for your partition:
    Code:
    sudo blkid -c /dev/null
    **** And based on the error message you got make sure the mount point exists:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/windows

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    349

    Re: Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    Thanks Morbius, I did have the correct UUID but after making the media/windows directory I now get only this:

    mount: mount point 0 does not exist
    mount: mount point 0 does not exist

    I guess that is some progress

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    5,611

    Re: Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    please post the output of the following command:
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    349

    [SOLVED] Upgraded from 12.04 to 13.10 and now cant access NTFS partition

    The NTFS partitions show up in gparted but I can't unmount either of them and I need to delete one of them so I can repartition it... I still can;t access either file system though they are both mounted as /media/windows

    Here's that output Morbius (note: sda4 is the NTFS I cloned which is sda3, I manually changed the mount point of sda4 to none myself, but it was mounted as /windows before i changed it)

    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    # / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    UUID=b3d209ef-b581-43a5-bade-ede9b88fde61 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /boot was on /dev/sda3 during installation
    #UUID=8f71f24f-6950-48fd-a6be-5da054b2cfff /boot ext4 defaults 0 2
    # /windows was on /dev/sda4 during installation
    UUID=0F7E28FD4094875B none ntfs
    defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 0
    # swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
    UUID=06ffce0d-c058-4928-8ea1-17968c8aa3cf none swap sw 0 0
    #NTFS partition
    UUID=0F7E28FD4094875B /media/windows ntfs
    defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

    So I changed fstab so sda4 was mounted /media/windows and now it mounts at boot, but it won't unmount and now sda3 has unallocated space and is preventing it from being used or unmounted, thus I can't resize it to fix it?

    UUID=b3d209ef-b581-43a5-bade-ede9b88fde61 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /boot was on /dev/sda3 during installation
    #UUID=8f71f24f-6950-48fd-a6be-5da054b2cfff /boot ext4 defaults 0 2
    # /windows was on /dev/sda4 during installation
    UUID=0F7E28FD4094875B /media/windows ntfs
    defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 0
    # swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
    UUID=06ffce0d-c058-4928-8ea1-17968c8aa3cf none swap sw 0 0
    #NTFS partition
    UUID=0F7E28FD4094875B /media/windows ntfs
    defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

    Ok, I just edited the fstab for the second line on sda3 to copy sda4 and now they both are mounting and unmounting and I am able to delete and move the partitions I need to.

    Thanks for the help everyone, much appreciation!!
    Last edited by howefield; October 12th, 2014 at 11:46 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •