Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu Shared Folder

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Ubuntu Shared Folder

Hi, I hope this is the right place to post this. On Windows there is a shared folder which all users have access to. I used to store music, videos and other files that way all users on the computer had access to them without install multiple files on the same hard drive. I was wondering if Ubuntu had a similar folder or if not how I could set one up like that.

Thanx

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Re: Ubuntu Shared Folder

I think it's possible. It comes down to the ownership properties for the folder you want to setup for sharing.
    I can't say that I'm fluent with the Linux file system as yet, I'm still learning too, but it's way different that how Windows controls file/directory access.
    The ownership would deal more with group ownership/rights and who's in the group for access.

Try reading here:
    http://linuxcommand.org/lc3_lts0090.php

It explaines the Linus permissions system.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

If you have that folder already just access that from Ubuntu.

Windows does not use EXT* filesystem. Doesn't know what it is. If you want to share between Win and Ubuntu you need to create (or use an existing) NTFS or FAT partition, which Ubuntu and Windows can read and write without issue.

I have a 15Gb partition called /Misc which is used for sharing.

That's it.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball View Post
    If you have that folder already just access that from Ubuntu.

Windows does not use EXT* filesystem. Doesn't know what it is. If you want to share between Win and Ubuntu you need to create (or use an existing) NTFS or FAT partition, which Ubuntu and Windows can read and write without issue.

I have a 15Gb partition called /Misc which is used for sharing.

That's it.