Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    20

    Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    Hello, I'm a new user. After updating from 12.04 to 13.10 my grub menu got edited and the link to Win7 is no longer there. I'm confused - where do I put the entry? Various sources give different solutions to this problem and I can't seem to get this to work. I've put it into /etc/grub.d/40_custom and I've used 'os-prober' which, I think added the entry to grub.cfg. Still not working. Help much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    6,489
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu HELP.

    If this doesn't help then post the output
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    As long as A)os-prober is not disabled, and B)The Windows Bootfiles are not corrupted, it should come back with an entry for Windows OS.
    If it comes back without Windows listed, then there is a good chance that you need to run something like EasyBCD
    which should fix the windows boot files.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    20

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu HELP.

    Code:
     Generating grub.cfg ...Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.11.0-13-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.11.0-13-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.11.0-12-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.11.0-12-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.5.0-43-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.5.0-43-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.5.0-42-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.5.0-42-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.5.0-40-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.5.0-40-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.5.0-39-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.5.0-39-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.5.0-23-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.5.0-23-generic
    Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
    Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
    done

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    6,489
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    Windows 7 shows up in the menuentry listings.

    When you reboot can you load Windows now?
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    20

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    No, the list ends at memtest entry.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    Scroll down.
    Do you have a (very) tiny arrow in the lower right corner of the box around the grub entries? That says you have more entries.

    You may want to house clean old kernels. I like to keep one older one just in case but delete the other older ones.
    I prefer synaptic, but you can also use command line.

    Determine your current kernel:
    uname -a
    uname -r
    In synaptic search for linux-image to choose to delete old ones
    Also command line in post #8
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1283521
    cd /boot
    ls vmlinuz*
    sudo apt-get purge linux-image-[version]-generic linux-image-[version]-generic
    Multiples, just be sure not to delete your current kernel:
    sudo apt-get purge linux-image-3.5.0-{XX,XX,XX,XX,XX,XX}-generic
    Example:
    sudo apt-get purge linux-image-3.5.0-{17,18,19,21,22,23,24}-generic

    If concern that you delete your current kernel you can make sure it still is installed.
    # just to be sure latest kernel is installed
    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade
    apt-get dist-upgrade
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    20

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    I did try scrolling down The entry is simply not there.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    Is that edited 40_custom (or renamed 40_custom) file executable? They normally are but it is worth a check. Does the File Manager>Properties>Permissions tab show a tick mark against Allow executing file as a program?

    Regards.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    20

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    It is marked. Furthermore, I still have a ton of useless grub entries after cleaning old kernels with ubuntu-tweak. Oh and another thing: since I installed os-prober, shut down and restart on the top panel won't work

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Trouble with adding entries to grub2 menu.

    I have never used ubuntu-tweak. If it removed kernels correctly you may need to run this to update menu.
    sudo update-grub

    You should not have to install os-prober, it is part of grub2?

    and grub has nothing to do with gui after you have booted. Did you change something else or install/uninstall something else?
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •