Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 73

Thread: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Ok, so in these past attempts to try to use Linux, there has been one thing stopping me: the Internet. I did post a previous thread about my problem, and I thought it was fixed, but...I didn't mention it back on that thread because I thought that would be necro-ing a forum.
    Anyway, I decided to try Linux again (Xubuntu) and I noticed something when I connected to my network. I took a screenshot of it. It mentions something about a .local domain. Can someone tell me if this is why my internet is slow with Linux?
    Here's the screenshot:
    [IMG]Uploaded with ImageShack.com[/IMG]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Welcome to the forums.

    Let's see if we can help.
    What troubleshooting have you performed so far?
    Exactly which version of Ubuntu are you running?
    What do the log files show related to this issue?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    So far, I found this thing where I type this command:

    host -t SOA local

    and where I get:

    local has SOA record...

    Apparently, I should not be getting this. The thread (I forget which) said to make it so that another DNS server is used. Do this by editing /etc/resolv.conf
    However, /etc/resolv.conf keeps resetting. Which sucks. I've searched up maybe things (mostly it was stuff with something called DHCP), but they do not work
    So yeah...what should I do? I really don't want to go back to Windows.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,790
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Hi lavini557.

    There's a simple solution without messing with your router or DHCP server.

    Stop the avahi service:
    Code:
    sudo service avahi-daemon stop
    Or if you are not using it at all, uninstall it:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge avahi-daemon
    Let us know how it goes.
    Regards.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    I tried uninstalling the avahi-daemon. I think there might be a slight difference, but my internet's pretty much the same speed as before Also, the host SOA command thing is pretty much the same, except now it shows this (I think it was because of what I was trying to do before I started this thread)

    local.my.domain.commy.domain.com has SOA record . . 0 0 0 0 0


    I have no idea what the "local.my.domain.commy.domain.com" is...

    Just saying if this helps: Sometimes, on the notification bar thing (the one that shows the wifi signal's power) it varies a lot. Sometimes it shows up to maximum, but most of the time it is 2/5 of the thing or 1/5 of the thing. Not sure if I'm making sense here, but I'd thought I'd mention it just in case. This is also evident with Chrome. Sometimes, for like a second, the apps and stuff go gray, as though there is no internet. It does go back to color, though.

    Anything that anyone would recommend that I should do?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    bump

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Quote Originally Posted by lavini557 View Post
    I tried uninstalling the avahi-daemon. I think there might be a slight difference, but my internet's pretty much the same speed as before Also, the host SOA command thing is pretty much the same, except now it shows this (I think it was because of what I was trying to do before I started this thread)

    local.my.domain.commy.domain.com has SOA record . . 0 0 0 0 0


    I have no idea what the "local.my.domain.commy.domain.com" is...

    Just saying if this helps: Sometimes, on the notification bar thing (the one that shows the wifi signal's power) it varies a lot. Sometimes it shows up to maximum, but most of the time it is 2/5 of the thing or 1/5 of the thing. Not sure if I'm making sense here, but I'd thought I'd mention it just in case. This is also evident with Chrome. Sometimes, for like a second, the apps and stuff go gray, as though there is no internet. It does go back to color, though.

    Anything that anyone would recommend that I should do?
    To start with please post the terminal output for these commands
    Code:
    cat /etc/hosts
    
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    
    hostname
    Try to ping Google. Post the terminal output of these commands
    Code:
    ping -c4 google.com
    
    ping -c4 74.125.224.137
    -BAB1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.1.1 Pavilion


    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters

    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN
    nameserver 127.0.1.1
    search my.domain.commy.domain.com
    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ hostname
    Pavilion

    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 google.com
    PING google.com (173.194.46.33) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from ord08s10-in-f1.1e100.net (173.194.46.33): icmp_seq=1 ttl=53 time=38.9 ms
    64 bytes from ord08s10-in-f1.1e100.net (173.194.46.33): icmp_seq=2 ttl=53 time=40.3 ms


    --- google.com ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 2 received, 50% packet loss, time 3003ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 38.947/39.628/40.309/0.681 ms

    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 74.125.224.137
    PING 74.125.224.137 (74.125.224.137) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=1 ttl=51 time=100 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=2 ttl=50 time=98.1 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=3 ttl=51 time=682 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=4 ttl=51 time=107 ms


    --- 74.125.224.137 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3003ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 98.161/247.106/682.114/251.174 ms

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Quote Originally Posted by lavini557 View Post
    Code:
    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1    localhost
    127.0.1.1    Pavilion
    
    
    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1     ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    This is correct for a default installation.
    Code:
    avini557@Pavilion:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
    #     DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN
    nameserver 127.0.1.1
    search my.domain.commy.domain.com <-- This is part of the problem.  You configured something to create this. 
    See the comment in red above. That is part of your problem, but you can't directly edit the file, so it has been added via the app resolvconf. Post the output of this command
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolvconf/resolv.conf.d/tail
    Code:
    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ hostname
    Pavilion
    Good
    Code:
    avini557@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 google.com
    PING google.com (173.194.46.33) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from ord08s10-in-f1.1e100.net (173.194.46.33): icmp_seq=1 ttl=53 time=38.9 ms
    64 bytes from ord08s10-in-f1.1e100.net (173.194.46.33): icmp_seq=2 ttl=53 time=40.3 ms
    
    
    --- google.com ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 2 received, 50% packet loss, time 3003ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 38.947/39.628/40.309/0.681 ms
    
    lavini557@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 74.125.224.137
    PING 74.125.224.137 (74.125.224.137) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=1 ttl=51 time=100 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=2 ttl=50 time=98.1 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=3 ttl=51 time=682 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.137: icmp_seq=4 ttl=51 time=107 ms
    
    
    --- 74.125.224.137 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3003ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 98.161/247.106/682.114/251.174 ms
    Both of these are google.com, so we definitely have a DNS resolution problem. the DNS server that you are using is local to this host (127.0.1.1) and it is probably confused with the DNS suffix you have created in resolv.conf.

    So the big question is what app have you installed that could have created this problem? Or what did you misconfigure while following somebody's howto instructions. It doesn't appear to be a problem from a default install of Ubuntu.
    -BAB1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    7,256

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    I'm not sure I agree that the different IP for www.google.com indicates a DNS problem - www.google.com resolves to a 173.194.x.x (1e100.net) address for me as well - maybe it's a regional thing? I agree you should find out what's setting the my.domain.commy.com DNS search though

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •