Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 73

Thread: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Maybe it's just me, but the NoScript only helped a little bit...there were moments with good speed but there are still moments of slowdown (and now when the slowdowns happen, I think they are slower than before o.o).

    Here is the terminal output:

    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 Pavilion
    PING Pavilion (127.0.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.063 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.057 ms


    --- Pavilion ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2999ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.043/0.056/0.063/0.009 ms
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 Pavilion.local
    PING Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.061 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms


    --- Pavilion.local ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3001ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.054/0.059/0.062/0.010 ms

    For the network manager, there aren't any DNS servers listed.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Quote Originally Posted by lavini557 View Post
    Maybe it's just me, but the NoScript only helped a little bit...there were moments with good speed but there are still moments of slowdown (and now when the slowdowns happen, I think they are slower than before o.o).

    Here is the terminal output:

    Code:
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 Pavilion
    PING Pavilion (127.0.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.043 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.063 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.057 ms
    --- Pavilion ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2999ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.043/0.056/0.063/0.009 ms
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 Pavilion.local

    PING .local

    Code:
    Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.061 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
    --- Pavilion.local ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3001ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.054/0.059/0.062/0.010 ms

    For the network manager, there aren't any DNS servers listed.
    I see that the .local is not a bother anymore. It looks like Network Manager is set to auto configure. Since the system is working correctly right now I would leave it alone. I haven't used Firefox on Windows in a long time, but I can tell you the what you have now is typical as far as response times. The page load time is great. The browser addons and JavaScript is what slows it down.

    Enjoy it the way it is.
    Last edited by bab1; November 28th, 2013 at 02:08 AM.
    -BAB1

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    6,178

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Have you done an actual internet speed test (either provided by your ISP, or a public one like http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speedtest.net)?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Ah, I see bab...ok then. But just a question: why does that notification about a .local domain thing pop up anyway? Do you know what would cause that?
    And steeldriver, here is my test from speedtest.net:
    Ping: 144ms
    Download speed: 3.62 Mbps
    Upload speed: 1.02 Mbps

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Quote Originally Posted by lavini557 View Post
    Ah, I see bab...ok then. But just a question: why does that notification about a .local domain thing pop up anyway? Do you know what would cause that?
    The notification pops up we a user manually configures a ,locall DNS domain. The zeroconf process (avahi on Linux) uses .local also. Since both can't use .local avahi stops running after posting a notification. Are you still seeing the pop-up? Post the output of this
    Code:
    ps -ef |  grep avahi
    -BAB1

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ ps -ef | grep avahi
    lavinia 3468 3405 0 10:25 pts/0 00:00:00 grep --color=auto avahi

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    6,178

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    What speeds are you expecting? If you are using a wireless connection, then the download speed in particular can be much less than your basic internet connection speed (from router to ISP), especially if the wifi signal to noise ratio is poor or you have interference from nearby channels. You can use nm-tool or nmcli to see the signal strengths of yours + adjacent channels.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Quote Originally Posted by lavini557 View Post
    Code:
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ ps -ef |  grep avahi
    lavinia   3468  3405  0 10:25 pts/0    00:00:00 grep --color=auto avahi
    The above is inconsistent with the results you posted earlier (see below).
    Code:
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ ping -c4 Pavilion.local
    
    Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.061 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
    64 bytes from Pavilion.local (192.168.0.24): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
    Typically when you can resolve the .local DNS suffix it is because you are successfully running avahi-daemon. But your reply shows that you are not running avahi-daemon at all. A successful output of this should look like this
    Code:
    ps -ef |  grep avahi
    avahi      995     1  0 07:47 ?        00:00:00 avahi-daemon: running [malibu.local]
    avahi      998   995  0 07:47 ?        00:00:00 avahi-daemon: chroot helper
    bruce     2819  2763  0 08:51 pts/0    00:00:00 grep --color=auto avahi
    The 2 lines (in green) are missing from your output. Did you modify Avahi in any way? How many machines do you have running on your network?

    What is the output of these 2 commands
    Code:
    cat /etc/hosts
    
    dpkg -l avahi-daemon
    -BAB1

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    61

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Nope, I have never touched Avahi in any way.

    And here's the terminal output:

    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.1.1 Pavilion


    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ dpkg -l avahi-daemon
    Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
    | Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
    |/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
    ||/ Name Version Architecture Description
    +++-==============-============-============-=================================
    ii avahi-daemon 0.6.31-2ubun amd64 Avahi mDNS/DNS-SD daemon

  10. #40
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Slow Internet possible because of .local domain thingy

    Quote Originally Posted by lavini557 View Post
    Nope, I have never touched Avahi in any way.
    I thought that was the case, but I needed to hear it from you
    [QUOTE]

    And here's the terminal output:

    Code:
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1	localhost
    127.0.1.1	Pavilion
    
    
    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1     ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    [QUOTE]
    Notice that there is no .local defined here. As an example only: Pavillion.local . There is no need for you to define it. That's what avahi is for.
    Code:
    lavinia@Pavilion:~$ dpkg -l avahi-daemon
    Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
    | Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
    |/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
    ||/ Name           Version      Architecture Description
    +++-==============-============-============-=================================
    ii  avahi-daemon   0.6.31-2ubun amd64        Avahi mDNS/DNS-SD daemon
    This is the installed avahi package. So it is there and it is running.

    Post the output of this
    Code:
    pgrep - avahi
    Last edited by bab1; November 28th, 2013 at 08:35 PM.
    -BAB1

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •