Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Does U1 upload the entire file, or the edited part if a file is edited?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    5

    Does U1 upload the entire file, or the edited part if a file is edited?

    Does U1 upload the entire file, or the edited part if a file is edited?

    Dropbox uploads the modified part if any change is done. Does U1 also do that to save the bandwidth and time?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    202
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Does U1 upload the entire file, or the edited part if a file is edited?

    Try contacting Ubuntu One directly

    https://one.ubuntu.com/help/contact/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bombay
    Beans
    6,357
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Does U1 upload the entire file, or the edited part if a file is edited?

    Quote Originally Posted by grier-devon View Post
    Try contacting Ubuntu One directly

    https://one.ubuntu.com/help/contact/
    All the same, I think someone here might know

    IIRC, OP may have asked this at Ask Ubuntu as well: http://askubuntu.com/questions/37811...dited-modified
    de gustibus et coloribus non est disputandum -- Wiktionary

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    350

    Re: Does U1 upload the entire file, or the edited part if a file is edited?

    Not 100% sure, but I think Ubuntu One uploads the whole file. I'm mostly basing this on the status messages u1sdtool displays when it shows the file transfer queue. It appears as though the new version of the file is uploaded under a temporary name, the old version is deleted and then the new file is saved under the proper name.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •