Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ballard
    Beans
    2,353
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    I have about 2 TB worth of FLAC files (mostly) sitting on an Ubuntu 10.04 machine sharing this collection across my network using Samba. I have been running like this for a long time and Rhythmbox running on 10.04 has little or no difficulty running under these circumstances. (All of this is running over wire, and I have 13.10 and 10.04 machines available in addition to the 10.04 desktop-as-server just mentioned.)

    However, later versions of Rhythmbox (starting at least with 13.04, including 13.10 and now the latest through an added repository) can eventually load the whole music collection. It probably takes about eight hours to scan the whole thing the first time through. (Compare this to Clementine which can scan through the collection is perhaps an hour.)

    Once the collection is scanned Rhythmbox will play music. That being said, I also lose any control over the application. Any operation I might attempt to perform once the music is started (pausing, searching, switching to a playlist, &c) plunges the GUI into a cycle of greyness and naught. (On the plus side the music does continue to play through this.)

    Additionally, and I think this might be related, if I attempt to burn a playlist (Rhythmbox uses Brasero for this) the files never fully scan and thus the CD can never be burned.

    I could use some help troubleshooting this as I am at a total loss.
    "We're all in this together, kid." --H. Tuttle (a.k.a. H. Buttle)
    "Maybe it's a layer 8 problem." --thatguruguy
    A High-Tech Blech!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ballard
    Beans
    2,353
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    Here are some other interesting facts. Rhythmbox uses 100% of one of my (4) cores for playback (or even when paused). I am able to use the play/pause toggle under the volume control applet some of the time. However, the GUI for Rhythmbox is essentially totally unusable.

    Fascinating?
    Last edited by jamesisin; November 22nd, 2013 at 06:51 AM.
    "We're all in this together, kid." --H. Tuttle (a.k.a. H. Buttle)
    "Maybe it's a layer 8 problem." --thatguruguy
    A High-Tech Blech!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    9,486
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    Try running rhythmbox in a terminal and post any helpful messages. It's possible that the database has changed a lot since 10.04 and it requires a lot more time and CPU power to fill it. It doesn't help your situation.

    You could uninstall rhythmbox and grab the *.deb packagse from an older version (perhaps 12.04) and install that.

    Scroll down to "R"

    http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise/gnome/
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ballard
    Beans
    2,353
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    Dry run from terminal:

    Code:
    $ rhythmbox
    
    (rhythmbox:4939): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_css_provider_load_from_path: assertion 'path != NULL' failed
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/lib/rhythmbox/plugins/ubuntuone/ubuntuone.py", line 29, in <module>
        'Purchased from Ubuntu One')
      File "/usr/lib/python3.3/posixpath.py", line 92, in join
        "components.") from None
    TypeError: Can't mix strings and bytes in path components.
    
    (rhythmbox:4939): libpeas-WARNING **: Error loading plugin 'ubuntuone'
    Rhythmbox: could not connect to socket
    Rhythmbox: No such file or directory
    
    (rhythmbox:4939): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: Custom constructor for class SoupServer returned NULL (which is invalid).  Unable to remove object from construction_objects list, so memory was probably just leaked.  Please use GInitable instead.
    
    [above on open and below on close]
    
    (rhythmbox:4939): Gtk-WARNING **: mnemonic "s" wasn't removed for widget (0x1b16a50)
    Unable to open ~/.mtpz-data for reading, MTPZ disabled.
    Thanks for taking a look.

    I am more interested in helping Ubuntu/Rhythmbox than in solving this issue for myself. I am currently using Clementine on my hi-fi system (and my main machine is still running 10.04 which has no similar issues). But I advocate for Ubuntu and this is the default player, so it's an important issue.
    "We're all in this together, kid." --H. Tuttle (a.k.a. H. Buttle)
    "Maybe it's a layer 8 problem." --thatguruguy
    A High-Tech Blech!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    9,486
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    It looks like possibly an Ubuntu One integration error. Do you have an Ubuntu One plug-in enabled in rhythmbox? I don't see it in my 12.10 version, so perhaps Ubuntu One was added to 13.04 and 13.10. That could certainly take some time if rhythmbox has to phone home for every track that is loaded into the database.
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ballard
    Beans
    2,353
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    How can I disable the UO plugin before opening Rhythmbox (because once it's open that plugin is marked as unavailable and can't be unchecked)?
    "We're all in this together, kid." --H. Tuttle (a.k.a. H. Buttle)
    "Maybe it's a layer 8 problem." --thatguruguy
    A High-Tech Blech!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    5,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    Though I'm sure there is something simpler, you can try looking over the file
    /usr/lib/rhythmbox/plugins/ubuntuone/ubuntuone.plugin.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ballard
    Beans
    2,353
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    I suppose I could just (temporarily) hide that folder (the UO folder and not the entire plugins folder).
    "We're all in this together, kid." --H. Tuttle (a.k.a. H. Buttle)
    "Maybe it's a layer 8 problem." --thatguruguy
    A High-Tech Blech!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    9,486
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    If you don't use Ubuntu One services, you could try removing it from your system and see if that helps. That would quickly isolate the problem.
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ballard
    Beans
    2,353
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Rhythmbox + SMB + 2 TB of FLAC = Totally Unusable

    Done. This does prevent the UO plugin from loading (it doesn't appear in the list of plugins of course). Nonetheless, this does not have a positive impact on the performance (or non-performance) of Rhythmbox. The GUI remains essentially useless. I can click on something and probably that will eventually take, but it's unusable in this state.

    Here is the output without the plugin:

    Code:
    $ rhythmbox
    
    (rhythmbox:6529): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_css_provider_load_from_path: assertion 'path != NULL' failed
    Rhythmbox: could not connect to socket
    Rhythmbox: No such file or directory
    
    (rhythmbox:6529): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: Custom constructor for class SoupServer returned NULL (which is invalid).  Unable to remove object from construction_objects list, so memory was probably just leaked.  Please use GInitable instead.
    
    (rhythmbox:6529): Gtk-WARNING **: mnemonic "s" wasn't removed for widget (0xe7fc10)
    Unable to open ~/.mtpz-data for reading, MTPZ disabled.
    (This is without playback.)

    Incidentally, judging from my RAM state it looks as though RAM may not be released by Rb.
    "We're all in this together, kid." --H. Tuttle (a.k.a. H. Buttle)
    "Maybe it's a layer 8 problem." --thatguruguy
    A High-Tech Blech!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •