Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Recommend Inexpensive Hardware for trying Linux

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

Recommend Inexpensive Hardware for trying Linux

I'm a longtime Mac user ready to give Linux a chance. I'm a Drupal developer that uses Linux servers every day and I'm comfortable at the command line. I use MacOS X Terminal a lot. But controlling a server is different than using it as a desktop. But I'm ready to give it a try.

I'm also testing on behalf of the local high school which can no longer afford Macs. They are ready to jump in to Windows and I'm yelling and screaming "No! Linux/Ubuntu is what you want." But when people ask me if I've ever used it and I sheepishly say "No" they role their eyes. I need some cred here.

Yes, I know I can try out Linux on my Mac but I don't want to. This Linux adventure is enough of a distraction from work as it is and I don't want to duel boot my work computer or otherwise fuss with a work environment that is working OK.

If I ultimately make the move to Linux, I'll get a desktop and I'll get one with decent specs. But in testing mode, I want to see, for the school, if the cheepo ones can pull their weight, and I don't want to lay down a lot of cash if I decide to stick with my Mac for work.

So do advise on hardware. What do you think of this:
    http://www.amazon.com/Acer-C710-2847...dp/B00AG0BLWU/

It's a Chromebook; I'd wipe the chrome and install Linux. I've read about Crouton, but I don't like the lack of security. Other ideas?

Shai

Beans

Re: Recommend Inexpensive Hardware for trying Linux

Recommended hardware: A USB stick.

Boot your Mac from the USB without any change to OSX, and no risk: http://www.ubuntu.com/download/deskt...ick-on-mac-osx
    The instructions tell you how to boot from the USB when it's ready.
    Simply use it for the live environment, don't install onto your Mac's hard drive.

Beans