Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    16

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    You could try the most recent build of cinnamon - http://www.webupd8.org/2013/11/cinna...-unity-in.html

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    2,906
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    Quote Originally Posted by kansasnoob View Post
    Precise is using mostly GNOME version 3.2 and will continue to do so until it reaches EOL in April 2017

    GNOME 2.* went away after Natty - gonzo
    Oh my bad. Perhaps if I had Noob in my name I would have known that fact.
    Last edited by Cavsfan; November 15th, 2013 at 05:27 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,169

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    We should probably concentrate on answering the OP's question anyway

    And it's not as easy as one might think

    I started this "history":

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2185161

    When I installed only 'gnome-panel' in Ubuntu Trusty on Wed Oct 30 00:15:43 2013 I got a simple and brief list of depends/recommends:

    alacarte (3.10.0-1)
    gir1.2-gconf-2.0 (3.2.6-0ubuntu1)
    gir1.2-panelapplet-4.0 (1:3.6.2-0ubuntu15)
    gnome-applets (3.5.92-0ubuntu3)
    gnome-applets-data (3.5.92-0ubuntu3)
    gnome-media (3.4.0-1ubuntu1)
    gnome-panel (1:3.6.2-0ubuntu15)
    gnome-panel-data (1:3.6.2-0ubuntu15)
    gnome-session-flashback (1:3.6.2-0ubuntu15)
    gstreamer0.10-gconf (0.10.31-3+nmu1ubuntu3)
    indicator-applet (12.10.2+13.10.20130924.2-0ubuntu1)
    indicator-applet-complete (12.10.2+13.10.20130924.2-0ubuntu1)
    libgnome-media-profiles-3.0-0 (3.0.0-1ubuntu1)
    libpanel-applet-4-0 (1:3.6.2-0ubuntu15)
    metacity (1:2.34.13-0ubuntu2)
    notification-daemon (0.7.6-1)
    shiki-colors-metacity-theme (4.6-1ubuntu2)
    Then I get these login options:

    login_options.JPG

    The Ubuntu session still seems OK if chosen, the GNOME Flashback (no effects) session also boots just fine, and the Ubuntu session still appears to function properly thereafter. But after you boot the Flashback session which uses Compiz both the Unity session and the standard "Classic" session seem somewhat screwed up on different levels because they share common .compiz* files

    Starting with a fresh install of Ubuntu GNOME presents somewhat different issues. Some people may assume that the new GNOME Classic is the same as what began as "gnome-fallback" but it's just not!

    If I had a time machine maybe I could have convinced Ubuntu dev to name that session "legacy" instead of classic in Oneiric

    That's why I started this thread:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2184682

    I need the kind of help I received here:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1873765

    In fact it would be better if someone else took over

    I'm getting old and tired, mind ain't so sharp no more

    Well my mind has never been that sharp

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,169

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    I posted a question here:

    http://jonathancarter.org/2013/02/05...comment-297657

    So we should hopefully know something within the next days or weeks

    Regardless the OP's question is an extremely valid and important question.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Colorado: USA
    Beans
    184
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    Hi there is always xfce with xubuntu for those of us who like the old gnome look it is a bit different than gnome2 but I think it is a fine desktop.
    the ubuntu desktop is ok but I have a lot of problems addapting to it. I just downloaded 14.4 bata? i guess and have already found a glitch or two with the side bar. see my postes in ubuntu+1 for a ferther explnation.
    Last edited by leeper69; November 22nd, 2013 at 04:05 AM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    5,940
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    The OP is not asking about alternatives to Ubuntu but If it will still be possible to install Gnome Classic on Ubuntu 14.04 and the answer at the moment seems to be "Yes, if you install Gnome flashback. But expect differences between Gnome flashback and Gnome Classic installed in Gnome Shell. This is due to Gnome classic being a Gnome Shell extension."

    Regards.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    2

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    Yes, the plan is to have both Gnome Flashback and the MATE desktop available, I think.

    We'll certainly have the classic desktop in at least one form, but probably two.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,169

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    Quote Originally Posted by joerlend.schinstad View Post
    Yes, the plan is to have both Gnome Flashback and the MATE desktop available, I think.

    We'll certainly have the classic desktop in at least one form, but probably two.
    It looks like we'll have the new GNOME classic which is actually 'gnome-shell' with some cherry picked extensions, the 'flashback session', Mate, and Cinnamon as well as the tried and proven LXDE and XFCE desktop environments so there will be plenty of DE's to choose from

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Gnome classic menu on Ubuntu 14.04?

    With the 14.04 release date approaching, got on this AM to see what would be needed for the update from 12.04.

    Looked for (and expected to find) a kansasnoob tutorial like the famous one for Precise, but the post just above is closest I find.

    Best I can tell (and it does answer the OP), the install process for those who never use Unity will be about the same: Install Trusty, gnome-panel, and etc. as desired, then configure.

    Really looking forward to trying Unity on my phone or tab one day. Will absolutely never use it on a non-touchscreen device.

    BTW, @kansasnoob, you have too big a following to get (old or) tired.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •