Thread: New to UBUNTU

Hybrid View

Beans

Unhappy New to UBUNTU

I have Installed UBUNTU latest version on my PC I am unable to connect to a network printer
    the printer is HP LaserJet Pro M1213nf can someone help
    Also another user can access the share folder on my Ubuntu pc
    but I cannot access a windows pc shared folder from my Ubuntu pc
    I am new to Ubuntu, with minimum knowledge of computers.
    we plan to buy new pcs for our office and was wondering if I should go in for windows os preloaded with brands such as hp/dell etc which will give trouble free and instant on operations or should we invest in free os such as Ubuntu, but will there be no hassles and will it be a smooth ride without problems.

please advise

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: New to UBUNTU

HP indicates that a printer driver exists: http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web...213nf_mfp.html and that 13.10 is supported so go to that page and follow instructions. I don't have that printer so I don't have first-hand experience to help any further. The other question is more general: Is it easier to go open-source? That all depends. It's perfectly possible that you run into a snag and that the effort to solve it is important. On the other hand, if a vendor of non-open solutions fails or is taken over by a competitor that stops development that can also put you in a heap of problems. So a real easy answer doesn't exist.

Beans

Thank you ,

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by Oommen_George View Post
    I have Installed UBUNTU latest version on my PC I am unable to connect to a network printer
    the printer is HP LaserJet Pro M1213nf can someone help
    Also another user can access the share folder on my Ubuntu pc
    but I cannot access a windows pc shared folder from my Ubuntu pc
    I am new to Ubuntu, with minimum knowledge of computers.