Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 13.10 skype

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Beans
    103
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    13.10 skype

    I upgraded to 13.10 fine, youtube works great. Then today I tried to use Skype and there was this loud buzzing static sound. I checked sound in 'options' and Skype says i have Pulse Audio running and I should turn it down or go to my Desktop Manager Volume control and turn it down. Well for Skype down means turning the output to off to get rid of the sound. When I exit Skype and adjust "Sound" to normal settings my sound is just fine on youtube, rhythmbox etc...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    8

    Re: 13.10 skype

    Hi

    I have the very same fault.

    I went into Options, sound devices. First i did a test did a test sound that was OK also Login/ Logout all OK. But still the sound is buzzing, PulseAudio is the sound driver in Option, sound devices. Banshee is the sound driver.

    I tried using VLC to play a film and the sound is perfect.

    Anybody got any ideas as the Skype Forum is a waste of time.

    Peterfc

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    16,824
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    8

    Re: 13.10 skype

    Hi

    I have just tried what Philinux advised but Skype won't open. How do i completely remove from my machine for a fresh install?

    Peterfc

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    16,824
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 13.10 skype

    Quote Originally Posted by peter_f_calder View Post
    Hi

    I have just tried what Philinux advised but Skype won't open. How do i completely remove from my machine for a fresh install?

    Peterfc
    Which bit of the fix did you use?

    To remove skype.
    In a terminal.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge skype

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    8

    Re: 13.10 skype

    Hi Philinux

    Sorry i missed putting that in. I did the option Below.

    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install skype

    I am sure now that i will be OK following what you advised,

    Peterfc

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    13

    Re: 13.10 skype

    Installing skype from the skype site results in no sound.
    I installed using the partner repo method from the link given above. I now have sound, but it's garbled and distorted. I started skype with this command and now it works fine.

    Code:
      Exec=/usr/bin/env PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 /usr/bin/skype

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Beans
    103
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 13.10 skype

    Quote Originally Posted by philinux View Post
    Philinux you're a doll. I did just as the link said, purged Skype from the terminal & did the rest, installing from the repository. Works perfectly. I don't know where the SOLVE button is, but this issue is solved!
    thanks!
    rory

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Whakatane, NZ
    Beans
    634
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: 13.10 skype

    Quote Originally Posted by Rrory View Post
    I don't know where the SOLVE button is...
    thanks!
    rory
    Great stuff!

    Almost at the top of the page under 'Thread Tools'.
    Windows free since '09 - never looked back!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Loveland Colorado
    Beans
    47
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: 13.10 skype

    I'm stumped with this.
    I have 13.10. I've installed skype, from both the repository and from skype.com. I've removed and purged after each failed attempt. I've tried the suggested workarounds mentioned above. Still no sound.

    The mic picks up sound input, and the speakers play sounds from any other application.

    This system is a pre-built desktop from ZAREASON, with 13.10 pre-installed.

    I've setup skype successfully 4 other times on 13.10 machines, the difference being Ubuntu was installed from scratch on scratch built machines.
    Any help?

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •