Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Problems With 14.04 Install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico,USA
    Beans
    538
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Problems With 14.04 Install

    I have Ubu 14.04 on a bootable USB stick for testing...

    It boots fine, but has some display driver issues....using a Nvidia graphics card
    that exhibits the same problems I had coming from Ubu 10.04 to 12.04....zig-zag
    lines, hung screens, etc....

    question: would it be beneficial going to 13.04 from 12.04 before going to 14.04

    or is there some other sequence I should do 1st ??? 12.04 to 12.10 to 13.04 to 14.04 maybe

    TIA...Tommy
    Registered Linux User # 529389
    Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS, Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS, Debian 7.8 Wheezy, Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca, Fedora 22
    my improved web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico,USA
    Beans
    538
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    14.04 Install Problems

    I have Ubu 14.04 on a bootable USB stick for testing...

    It boots fine, but has some display driver issues....using a Nvidia graphics card
    that exhibits the same problems I had coming from Ubu 10.04 to 12.04....zig-zag
    lines, hung screens, etc....

    question: would it be beneficial going to 13.04 from 12.04 before going to 14.04

    or is there some other sequence I should do 1st ??? 12.04 to 12.10 to 13.04 to 14.04 maybe

    TIA...Tommy
    Registered Linux User # 529389
    Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS, Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS, Debian 7.8 Wheezy, Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca, Fedora 22
    my improved web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 14.04 Install Problems

    There's a problem with nouveau for sure. I have a bug report on the System-Settings freeze. The "zig-zag" lines I only had on Kubuntu. I solved that by first boot using nomodeset and then from second boot on nouveau worked fine.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico,USA
    Beans
    538
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 14.04 Install Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by VMC View Post
    There's a problem with nouveau for sure. I have a bug report on the System-Settings freeze. The "zig-zag" lines I only had on Kubuntu. I solved that by first boot using nomodeset and then from second boot on nouveau worked fine.
    @VMC.....thanx for quick reply...

    for clarity I have NOT installed 14.04 yet....using a "live" session to be certain
    14.04 works with my HW 1st....

    can I get to the boot screen to use nomodeset from a "live" session ??

    if so, how ??

    I see no grub menu to edit the boot file....

    Tommy
    Registered Linux User # 529389
    Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS, Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS, Debian 7.8 Wheezy, Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca, Fedora 22
    my improved web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 14.04 Install Problems

    I think its 'F6' and then go to the end of the line , type a space then nomodeset, thenreturn. I use loop-back and haven't used the cd/dvd install in a while.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico,USA
    Beans
    538
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 14.04 Install Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by VMC View Post
    I think its 'F6' and then go to the end of the line , type a space then nomodeset, thenreturn. I use loop-back and haven't used the cd/dvd install in a while.
    thanx...will try that....

    BTW...you have exactly same HW as mine...AMD Athlon K8-64 Dual Core + NvidiaGEforce 6150se graphics
    so it must be possible to make it work

    Tommy
    Registered Linux User # 529389
    Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS, Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS, Debian 7.8 Wheezy, Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca, Fedora 22
    my improved web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico,USA
    Beans
    538
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 14.04 Install Problems

    OK nomodeset worked for the display problem...

    now if I can just get my wifi working reliably I'll be happy

    have already tried blacklisting the native realTek drivers
    and running RTL8192xC_USB_linux_v3.4.4_4749.20121105.zip
    but it crashed...maybe it's for an older kernel ???

    will check the forums for wireless problems under 14.04
    Registered Linux User # 529389
    Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS, Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS, Debian 7.8 Wheezy, Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca, Fedora 22
    my improved web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Problems With 14.04 Install

    Moved to Ubuntu +1.

    You do know that 14.04 will not be released until 2014, in month o4?
    Only testers that want to look for bugs should be attempting to use it. Plus the daily just opened so it is mostly just 13.10, but may change and break daily.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair - Updated Mar 2015:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Problems With 14.04 Install

    Please don't create multiple threads on the same subject, I have merged your two threads.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 14.04 Install Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by NM5TF View Post
    thanx...will try that....

    BTW...you have exactly same HW as mine...AMD Athlon K8-64 Dual Core + NvidiaGEforce 6150se graphics
    so it must be possible to make it work

    Tommy
    Since we have the same nvidia graphics, please go to my bug report on this problem and click that "This bug effects you", thanks.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •