Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Are attachments broken?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    7,246
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Are attachments broken?

    Are attachments broken? I've tried to attach a small PNG, GIF and text file to a thread but have no luck. Here is a sample error message:


    The following errors occurred:

    screenshot.gif: Upload of file failed. Was your file larger than the permitted (1024x768 for images)?

    The files have all been of acceptable size and format yet get rejected by the upload software anyway.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    We are aware of the problem, if you try to upload 2 or 3 times, it usually will go.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    Attachment 247212 - works for me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    Lars, does it work now?

    I fixed permissions of one of the directories on one of the forum frontends, if that makes sense. I think it was related to that, but if it's not fixed, I'll try dig deeper.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    7,246
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    Seems to be fixed. Thanks.


    The add attachments window doesn't close using the "close" button it has. Closing the tab in the browser worked ok though.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.png (531.4 KB, 10 views)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    I tried to upload an attachment last night, but ran out of time after failing 3 time. Today I had to try twice before my 1024X768 screenshot uploaded.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    Same here. Needs at least 4 or 5 tries before it goes through.
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests by PM, thanks |

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    Track this down to the file uploads directory on one of the FEs was being removed by one of the sync scripts. It then falls back to /tmp but that fails because we've configured it to fail - "PHP Warning: Unknown: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/tmp) is not within the allowed path(s):".

    It should be fixed for good now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    @hloeung, thanks for tracking this down. That's really good news.

    Test - one of the Saucy wallpapers, original = 2560x1600, to test both upload and auto-resizing of image to permitted maximum:

    Grass_by_Jeremy_Hill.jpg

    That seems to work fine.

    Please do not PM me about your forum account unless you have been asked to. The correct place to contact an admin about your account is here.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    7,353
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Are attachments broken?

    Not sure since when, but it used to always fail for me if I used the upper "Upload" button marked in red circle (never tried more than twice though).

    But always successful if I used the lower one. Although the "Close" buttons (both the top and bottom one) always worked for me here on chromium.



    Thought about reporting it a few days ago, got disconnected before I could, didn't think of it again..

    For this example though, both buttons seem to work now. Thanks for helping us hloeung !
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •