Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: LAMMPS compiling error

Beans

LAMMPS compiling error

Dear Developer and users,

I am new to LAMMPS and just try to install it. However, it produce the following error:

collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[1]: *** [../lmp_openmpi] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vampire/tools/lammps-30Sep13/src/Obj_openmpi'
    make: *** [openmpi] Error 2
    vampire@vampire-HP-ProBook-4530s:~/tools/lammps-30Sep13/src$

I am not sure how to solve it but obviously related to lmp (what is lmp anyway?). Please be kind enough to provide me necessary steps to solve this error. By the way, I am working on Ubuntu 12.04 OS
    Thanks in advance

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

package manager

If you are compiling anything on Ubuntu, you have probably taken a misstep and need to go back a little and start over.

Linux, Apache, MySQL/Postgresql, and Perl/PHP5/Python are all either on your system already or available via the package manager. With the package manager not only do you get to skip compiling anything, but it also automatically handles dependencies and later updates and patches.

The Linux part, that's Ubuntu. So you have that already.

Apache2, that's in Ubuntu Software Center or in Synaptic. Same with MySQL and PHP5.

Perl and Python are already on your system.

So the few packages you need can be installed via the package manager (Ubuntu Software Center or Synaptic) via a few clicks. No compiling needed.

Beans

Re: LAMMPS compiling error

I suspect the OP is referring to this --> http://lammps.sandia.gov/ rather than LAMP

However there does appear to be a PPA --> http://lammps.sandia.gov/download.html#ubuntu

Beans
    Distro

LOL. No harm done, I hope. The PPA would be the easy way, I hope it is up to date.

Beans

Steeldriver and Lars Nooden,