Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wubi install--got to 're-start to finish', then nothing

Beans

Question Wubi install--got to 're-start to finish', then nothing

I'm new to Ubuntu and limited in tech knowledge. I want to install Ubuntu on an older Compaq notebook, just upgraded the RAM to 2 G. Really wanted to do a dual-boot with the existing Windows XP but several attempts make me think I just can't re-partition the hard drive as needed. Wubi sounds like a good alternative, got it running through a 4+ hour installation and got a 'restart to finish Ubuntu install' screen, but nothing after restart. That is, the normal Windows start up with no installer showing up to take me to the promised land.

I do now have an Ubuntu folder on my hard drive, 17.5 G in size, but looking at the files I can't figure out how to get anything going to finish the install.

Any help would be much appreciated.

squakie is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Wubi install--got to 're-start to finish', then nothing

Wubi was only really meant for testing out Ubuntu. I say was, because it is not even an option for the new releases. Skip Wubi and do an full install of Ubuntu to it's own partition. This involves shrinking your existing Windows XP partition and installing Ubuntu into the newly freed space. There are instructions for this on this forum as well as other places. Start by removing the Wubi you just installed, then defrag your disk via Windows XP (running defrag 2 times is recommended). After that go straight to the install of Ubuntu.

As with anything new, be *sure* you have backups so you can:

(1) reinstall Windows XP
    (2) reload your programs and any data you have in Windows XP

Ubuntu itself won't do anything to Windows, but it's possible you might choose the incorrect option in the install process and end up with Ubuntu taking your entire disk - so follow the screen instructions carefully.

Beans
    Distro