Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Are /home partitions worth it?

Beans

Question Are /home partitions worth it?

I'm new to the Linux world and whilst I've been learning the ropes, I've read some conflicting opinions regarding the creation of separate partitions for /home and other directories during OS install.

Some say that having these directories in separate partitions allows you to reinstall without losing your data. Others say that it adds pointless complexity to the system and that some unwanted files from old installations linger after new installs.

What do you people think about this?

If storing certain directories on separate partitions is a good idea, why is this the case? Would it be better to use completely different drives?

Is this different from distro to distro?

Thanks in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Are /home partitions worth it?

I have never heard anyone say that installing /home on the same partition as root is a bad idea. That's kind of odd as it's far more common to install it to a different partition. Really, that it's very easy to just back up /home and reinstall the OS is alone reason enough to go that way. There have been a couple instances where I've needed to reinstall the OS or something similar, and beyond a few config files in /etc, just backing up /home was enough to have me back up and running in no time.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

With a separate /home you can easily install a newer Ubuntu version, or any Linux distro for that matter, without losing most of your custom settings, configurations, downloads, etc, since such a step usually involves wiping out the existing system/boot partitions. You simply choose to preserve your /home in the partitioner during install, and you're set.