Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,178
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: I would like to fix the suspend problem on pentium 4 desktop with Nividia

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    Code:
    Running hook /usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/55NetworkManager suspend suspend:
    Having NetworkManager put all interaces to sleep...Failed.
    
    /usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/55NetworkManager suspend suspend: success.
    ....
    ....
    Tue Jan  1 00:04:32 EST 2002: Running hooks for resume
    ....
    Running hook /usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/55NetworkManager resume suspend:
    Having NetworkManager wake interfaces back up...Failed.
    
    /usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/55NetworkManager resume suspend: success.
    Please try this, just as a test -

    * Disable Network Manager

    * Go into BIOS > disable all network interfaces > save & exit.

    * If you are using a USB wifi adapter, don't plug it in, so that no driver is loaded for it.

    * Boot into Ubuntu and make sure no network drivers are loaded -
    Code:
    lsmod | egrep 'rt2|e100'
    ..there should be no output

    * Now suspend > wait for at least 30 seconds > resume.

    Any improvement?
    Last edited by varunendra; October 14th, 2013 at 09:27 AM.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    Ok, next time I get there I can try this but it will be on tuesday.

    I did try removing the usb wireless and it still would not awaken.
    The other network are 2 builtin motherboard ethernet ports.

    This is an intel serverboard pentium 4 processor 2.8ghz. I have an Nvidia AGP video card and it is running Nvidia driver.

    http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...5WP1-E-P428-NP

    It dualboots with XP and when booted XP it awakens properly after a suspend.
    Last edited by sdowney717; October 14th, 2013 at 11:50 AM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,178
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    I did try removing the usb wireless and it still would not awaken.
    Once the driver for the USB adapter is loaded, it remains loaded even if you remove the adapter. It is usually buggy drivers/firmware/related power management that causes it to fail to unload during suspend. So if the module doesn't load at all, these possibilities are eliminated.

    The other network are 2 builtin motherboard ethernet ports.
    Yeah, figured that looking at the drivers (e100, e1000).
    They usually work in 'bridged' mode, sometimes that may cause issues too.

    Our target is to rule out the possibility of any of the network drivers or the interface or the Network Manager itself being the culprit. If they are, the suspend-resume will work with these removed/disabled. If it still fails, then we need to dig deeper.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    I removed the hard-drive and booted an identical system using that same drive and the desktop suspended and awoke perfectly. Exact same MB and ram.

    The other system I found the CMOS battery has failed but win7 was able to resume ok so dont know if a cmos battery would be the problem.
    The one that wont awaken runs nvidia driver. The one that does awaken has an AMD video card but running the free driver.

    What I will do is swap video cards when I get out there and update the thread.

    Could the nvidia driver be the problem?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,178
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    Could the nvidia driver be the problem?
    Could be (from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...suspend_to_RAM) -
    In some cases, it is possible that running pm-suspend causes hangs or other issues. This may be due to specific "misbehaving" modules. If you know which modules could cause such issues, adding a SUSPEND_MODULES config to /etc/pm/config.d/modules of the form:
    Code:
    SUSPEND_MODULES="uhci_hd button ehci_hd iwlwifi"
    should cause these modules to be specifically unloaded before suspend and reloaded after resume.
    ..but is better to test than guess. If it's fixed, maybe adding the nvidia driver to /etc/pm/config.d/modules file should help. If not, there are some options we can try with Grub boot parameters.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    Really weird things happening now.
    I have 2 of these MBoards.
    One at the house and one at the boat.
    house has AMD card.
    boat has Nvidia card.
    otherwise same MB and identical ram.

    Now the one here at the house with AMD card, was suspending and awakening ok and that with the hard drive from the boat's PC.
    So I goto boat and retrieve the Nvidia card. Put it into house PC and now it suspends and immediately awakens and does a reboot with bios screen flash, and then keyboard will not respond? Have to unplug power and reboot to get keyboard back.

    So I put the AMD card back into house PC and it suspends and immediately awakens and does a reboot and the keyboard responds?

    So now every time the house PC suspends, it awakens after about a second after shutting down and does a reboot with bios screen flash. And all I did was swap video cards?
    Suspend now broken on both MB.
    ???

    So suspend is now rebooting the PC.
    Last edited by sdowney717; October 18th, 2013 at 07:31 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    ok, just ignore the prior post. I turned it off, unplugged all the cords and let it sit timeout for awhile.
    Now it is back to working like it used to.

    It is definitely the Nvidia card.
    It will suspend and awaken ok with the AMD card.
    The Nvidia card it will not awaken, verified.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    ok i created that file and this is what is in there now.
    cmd to open that file
    sudo gedit /etc/pm/config.d/modules

    is the nvidia correct?

    Code:
    SUSPEND_MODULES="uhci_hd button ehci_hd iwlwifi nvidia"
    I tried this and it still will not awaken

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    I discovered it is definitely the Nvidia driver 304.88
    This is an older 6200 AGP card.
    If it runs the free driver, then it awakes properly from suspend.

    NOW, is it worth trying an upgrade from 12.04 LTS to 13.10 to see if the nvidia driver can suspend and awake properly???

    OR, is there an older driver to try that might work properly???

    OR, does anyone have thoughts on how to make it work as is?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,178
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do you wake a desktop computer from suspend?

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    is the nvidia correct?

    Code:
    SUSPEND_MODULES="uhci_hd button ehci_hd iwlwifi nvidia"
    The other entries highlighted in red were only for example and not needed. Moreover, I think there is no such driver as uhci_hd or ehci_hd in Ubuntu. They are ..hcd, not hd here. But anyway, that is not related now that you have verified that it is specifically related to the graphics card.

    The "nvidia" entry above is correct IF it is the module name that is loading for your card. The native drivers are nouveau and nvidiafb, not sure about the names of the proprietary variants. You can check it with -
    Code:
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 vga
    ..and look at the last line "Kernel driver in use:". Which one is in use? The same name should be used in above file.

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    NOW, is it worth trying an upgrade from 12.04 LTS to 13.10 to see if the nvidia driver can suspend and awake properly???
    I think you can check it in the live session too to make sure it works, before deciding to install/upgrade to it. But first make sure you are using correct driver name in the "modules" file above.

    There are some boot parameters as well that you may try, especially those related to acpi : https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Bo...Kernel_Options
    You can try them temporarily during boot time, or apply them permanently as mentioned in this thread : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132 (the above wiki page also mentions using "Boot-Repair" which makes applying these changes a lot safer and easier).

    I am not very familiar with graphics related issues, but can we see modinfo of the driver you are using? For example, if it is indeed "nvidia" then -
    Code:
    modinfo nvidia
    ..and also -
    Code:
    sudo grep -R [[:graph:]] /sys/module/nvidia/parameters
    ..to let us see what parameters the driver is currently loading with. Of course replace "nvidia" with the driver actually in use by your card.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •