Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    3

    camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

    I use ubuntu studio 13.04 and everytime I upload a file from my camera, it comes in 72dpi, in every software(darktable, gimp), I don't know how to change that, help!
    Last edited by ninja-pri; October 11th, 2013 at 01:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,190
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

    dbi? I assume dpi.

    Make new image in GIMP with size you need, open image from camera as layer.

    What's wrong with 72dpi? Why do you espect different?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

    Sorry, I meant dpi. I sometimes need to print the pictures, so I need to be able to change it. I'll try that and come back, thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hyperborea
    Beans
    1,629
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

    I Googled "screen resolution vs print resolution".
    Here are a couple of the results:
    http://www.gototheboard.com/articles...Resolution.pdf
    http://www.vsellis.com/understanding...vs-web-images/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,190
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

    ninja-pri,

    Look, you have finite amount of pixels, so DPI does not matter. When you print, just set the size of the print and you will have maximum DPI automatically for that size. If you want to know for 300dpi which is the size for that amount of pixels you have, then just calculate it.
    I don't see the point in setting 300dpi for jpegs. It all depends on program you use to print. Will it see the setting?

    For example, my camera sets 300dpi to jpegs, and in that resolutions it is ~A3 format. Do I need A3 print, no I just want picture 10x15cm so what good it gave me setting 300dpi - none. So I just set the print size and let DPI be as much it has to be. In this case ~770dpi.
    Last edited by jejeman; October 11th, 2013 at 09:57 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

    It's not jpeg, it's raw camera files, and I want them in their original resolution, it seems that the os is changing the resolution, not the softwares, I even tried windows, and there, the images come in their original dpi. Why does that happen?
    Last edited by ninja-pri; October 11th, 2013 at 02:21 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,190
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: camera files (even raw) with 72dbi when uploaded

    Form my camera raw is, like the jpegs, in 300dpi, but that is not important at all. I'm still printing at ~770dpi 10x15cm photo.
    I don't see why would OS change internal properties of a file. Maybe it just reads different info tags.
    If, by any chance, you are losing pixel count then that is a problem, other wise DPI value is no issue at all.

    Anyway, to cut the story short, you can use Imagemagick to change the DPI values with -density option.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •