Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Basic Question about Ubuntu

Beans

Basic Question about Ubuntu

I am new to Ubuntu and I have installed Ubuntu 11.10 version on my PC.
    Is there anything similar to control panel in Ubuntu.If not,how to know what all applications are working in the background and how to detect and stop them if some of the applications are not required.
    Thanks and regards in Advance.

Beans

Re: Basic Question about Ubuntu

You're thinking of the system manager. While there is a system manager in Ubuntu, it's not nearly as powerful as in Windows. If your computer freezes, it's frozen.

System Monitor manages tasks in Ubuntu. You can search for it in the dash.

You can also set a shortcut for it to open (command: "gnome-system-monitor"). XKill turns your mouse into a task killing tool, click and gone. It's command (can also set shortcut) is just "xkill".
    Last edited by Prime624; October 5th, 2013 at 05:07 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Quote Originally Posted by Prime624 View Post
    You're thinking of the system manager. While there is a system manager in Ubuntu, it's not nearly as powerful as in Windows.
    System manager? There's a System Monitor that does everything Microsoft's Task Manager does. Or at the command line you can simply run
    Code:
    and then
    Code:
    kill xxxx
    Simple, elegant & powerful.
    If your computer freezes, it's frozen.
    Sometimes Ubuntu, a shell wrapping Linux, will freeze. The Linux kernel remains active, and can be safely restarted by holding down Alt+SysRq and slowly typing the initialism formed by this mnemonic: Raising skinny elephants is utterly boring.
    You can also set a shortcut
    Shortcut is a Windows term; we call them Launchers.

[edit]adithya2 you are running an old version of Ubuntu. Code past EOL is unsupported. Consider upgrading to 12.04 LTS, which is probably the best for you at this stage.