Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: server setup

Beans

server setup

hello everyone
    This is my first attempt to create my own server and make it public. I am running ubuntu server 12.04.3 on an old laptop.
    I have installed webmin, phpmyadmin etc etc and I am planning on hosting a web-site for a project of mine. I also want to have remote access via FTP and store my databases using mySQL. I have a couple of questions but first things first!
    I have set everything up and working locally (ftp access using filezilla and my webpage). I forwarded the required ports and I managed to have access remotely as well. I used no-ip.com to create a domain name and that worked fine as well for both the FTP and the website.
    I restarted my router and my public ip was reset (my ISP provides me with a dynamic ip). Now every time my router restarts I need to lookup my new public IP to access my files and page. Is there any way I could work that out?

Thank you

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: server setup

Congratulations! Many people started out just like you. Fun stuff.

A - don't restart your router very often. You are providing services on the 24/7/365 internet now to the entire world. It doesn't matter if you don't know about those foreign users, they have certainly discovered your FTP site already.
    B - setup a no-ip Dynamic DNS server that will auto-update the no-ip DNS records. Be certain that your DNS TTL is 30 min or so. There is a no-ip package for Ubuntu that does this.
    C - FTP probably isn't the best service to run unless you want anyone, anywhere in the world to have access to your machine (and not just the FTP areas you specify). See, the most popular FTP servers have been hacked a few times - back doors added. Plus FTP doesn't have any encryption, so using logins are just providing credentials to anyone between the remote system and your box. Almost everyone should stop using FTP.