Thread: How do I print wirlessly with my printer connected to my router via usb

Hybrid View

Beans

How do I print wirlessly with my printer connected to my router via usb

Hi I'm completely new to this, so please forgive me if something like this has been posted before. I have a CANON Pixma iP1000 that is connected to a router via usb. I initially set all this up in windows, so I could print from my laptop without being in the same room as the printer. I'm kinda hoping I can do the same in Ubuntu, so I can move away from windows and transition into Linux. I done some digging around the internet and managed to get the drivers installed (I had to convert the rpm packages into deb using alien) and I got samba and cups installed and running. I seem to be able to find my printer with the ip address, but when I get to 'Queue' and 'Connections' I don't know what to put in? I tried a few things, but must admit I'm stumped on this one. If anyone can help I would really appreciate it.
    Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: How do I print wirlessly with my printer connected to my router via usb

I think you want something like this. Of course, substitute the actual IP address on your system. A few printers have a bit of trouble with the ipp protocol; mine for example. If so, you might try ipp14://192.168...etc.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans

Hi Tarballs R Us, thanks for your quick response. I tried your suggestion and when I print a test page, it goes through the motions, but nothing prints out. If I add ipp14://192.168.1.. I get Held in the status of the print queue window. I don't know, but it seems like I'm missing something?
    Is there someway of having TCP/IP in Ubuntu?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release