Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i install.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    6

    New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i install.

    I am trying to revive an older intel 2.8 w/ HT and an MSI 915p neo2 motherboard. 2 gigs of ram. I just got a NVidia GeForce gt 610 for it. If I run the OS from the disk without installing it works fine. But if I install it . I get a 12.04 splash but it then goes dark but not in powersave. I have tried multiple fresh clean installs.

    Searched around and found out about hitting ctrl alt f1 to get it in text mode. when I do this, I briefly see the text login screen but it goes blank again.

    While highly skilled in the windows environment it does me no good here. What can I do or try to get someplace to test or get answers needed for troubleshooting.

    again it will load if I run it from the install disk without install, but I do need to do a nomodeset at the little man screen to get to the install window or it too goes to a blank screen.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    19th Hole
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    This is a very low-end system and it won't run Ubuntu very well if at all. The limited resources may be why the system is choking. I would suggest Lubuntu based on your system specs. Try downloading a LiveDVD/USB version of Lubuntu 13.04 32-bit and see if that doesn't solve your graphics issue.
    Newb: How far must I jump to clear the ledge halfway down?
    Guru: It's bad to jump off cliffs. Let's look at better options.
    Newb: Stop harping about "best practices" and just let me jump.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    10,350
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    I do not agree that this is low-end, on the contrary the GT610 is a great graphics card.

    With such new hardware 13.04 is a good choice. You could also try the fairly stable 13.10 beta.

    In all cases it's likely that NOMODESET should be a permanent boot option.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post

    In all cases it's likely that NOMODESET should be a permanent boot option.

    13.04 does boot, but it is maxing out the cpu. Both cores are at 100% constantly.

    How do it get 12.04 to permanently boot with NOMODESET?

  5. #5

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    • How do it get 12.04 to permanently boot with NOMODESET?


    • When you get to the first menu, instead of starting the install, you have to hit and F#. Forget which one it is. It sayss something like options.
    Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence. Abigail Adams ( 1744 - 1818 ), 1780;

    My blog Poetry and More Free Ubuntu Magazine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    19th Hole
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post
    I do not agree that this is low-end, on the contrary the GT610 is a great graphics card.

    With such new hardware 13.04 is a good choice. You could also try the fairly stable 13.10 beta.

    In all cases it's likely that NOMODESET should be a permanent boot option.
    I was more concerned with his CPU/MB/DRAM. It is probably a single core hyperthreaded P4. I have a similar CPU and MB combo in an old HP. Granted, my graphics card is not as good as the OP's, but I found that Lubuntu ran well whereas Ubuntu yielded only a black screen. But I'm happy to defer to your knowledge and experience.

    @OP

    mrgs is a forum guru and knows what he is talking about. If you want to try alternatives, it is easy these days with a LiveDVD/USB, so feel free to experiment on your own.
    Newb: How far must I jump to clear the ledge halfway down?
    Guru: It's bad to jump off cliffs. Let's look at better options.
    Newb: Stop harping about "best practices" and just let me jump.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    Quote Originally Posted by Sef View Post
    When you get to the first menu, instead of starting the install, you have to hit and F#. Forget which one it is. It sayss something like options.[/INDENT][*][/LIST]
    Ok yes, that part I know, instead of installing I get to the first menu , its f6 and hit select NOMODESET but how do I get it to do this after install? How do I permanently set it to that?

    Edit: never mind found http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132 , a little cryptic but as soon as I get off work , will try this out for setting it permanently.

    thanks
    Last edited by azsheepdog; September 28th, 2013 at 04:41 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    I have old nVidia 9600GT and have to use nomodeset to install and first boot, but then immediately install the nVidia proprietary drivers and have no issues.

    I have done it from both command line & from system settings. Older versions drivers was a separate icon in system settings, newer versions have it as a tab in all the other updates.

    Re: How To Install Nvidia Drivers [v8.1.2.12 by Bogan]. post 1126
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...43535&page=113
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Bi...erHowto/Nvidia
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2081649
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair - Updated Mar 2015:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    Quote Originally Posted by DuckHook View Post
    I was more concerned with his CPU/MB/DRAM. It is probably a single core hyperthreaded P4. I have a similar CPU and MB combo in an old HP. Granted, my graphics card is not as good as the OP's, but I found that Lubuntu ran well whereas Ubuntu yielded only a black screen. But I'm happy to defer to your knowledge and experience.

    @OP

    mrgs is a forum guru and knows what he is talking about. If you want to try alternatives, it is easy these days with a LiveDVD/USB, so feel free to experiment on your own.

    While its not the best, I can run 12.04 from dvd without any issues, I was able to load up firefox, install flash, played a youtube video at 720p and everything ran great. So I think I have enough system resources for 12.04 it just will not boot up if I actually install it. I run 13.04 from dvd and its super slow, capped cpu. installing is no better, capped, cpu but it actually does load.

    So I would like to get 12.04 running. it seems to be more optimized.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: New install of ubuntu 12.04.3 32bit, running from dvd it works but not if i insta

    The fact that both cores are maxed out suggests that we're dealing with a relatively new graphics board married to an inadequate mobo. The OP's system runs a 2.8Ghz P4 w/hyperthreading, so we have only one physical core that supports 2 threads. Under these circumstances I would choose Lubuntu over Ubuntu. Also what kind of RAM is in the box? I hope it's DDR.
    In working with *nix...There be dragons. Newcomers: I recommend reading Linux is Not Windows (http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm) and The Linux Command Line (http://www.linuxcommand.org/tlcl.php) before beginning your quest for a better OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •