Thread: Mounting preexisting RAID array.

Beans

Mounting preexisting RAID array.

Hi guys so yes I'm a Noob, but hopefully one that isn't too annoying, I do my research and I'm learning to be a developer Just give me a gentle nudge if I say anything particularly stupid.

So I've managed to get ubuntu installed after getting around a hardware issue regarding a crappy Marvel SATA 3 controller, that's neither here nor there though. Here's the issue I'm faced with now. Actually 2 issues but I'll post about them one at a time till each if fixed.

I have a Windows 8 / Ubuntu 12.04. Dual boot config with a bunch of other hard drives. Here is how the hardware is organized:

120GB SSD - Windows 8 (Boot) <--- Grub installed here
    750GB SSD - Ubuntu 12.04
    2TB RAID 1 Array - 2x2TB physical drives
    1TB extra HDD

Now I've got it so that Ubuntu and Windows boot fine from the Grub menu. However when I boot into Linux I see both physical HDDs of the RAID array as separate discs instead of a single array. I've done some research and realize that the Intel RAID "controller" is nothing more than "fakeRAID" in Linux and that I have to somehow enable software raid in linux for these drives. I've tried

sudo dmraid -ay

What I get is the following:

RAID set "isw_bggijbfdbd_The Warehouse" was not activated

So it's recognizing that there is a RAID array there but it's failing to activate it. How do I go about mounting / activating this RAID array in ubuntu? Note that I don't want to have to "activate" or mount the array every time I boot linux.

Thanks for any help. Learning things one bit at a time

EDIT: Oh and of course I don't want to wide the data on these drives, I just want to mount the existing array, if that makes sense.
    Last edited by LFGp3fK; September 25th, 2013 at 08:08 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Mounting preexisting RAID array.

You might find the info here helpful: https://help.ubuntu.com/10.04/server...tallation.html