Thread: Ubuntu Mobile OS Stability?

Beans

Question Ubuntu Mobile OS Stability?

I've been hearing about the new Ubuntu Mobile OS being released and I've gotta say, I'm excited about it. But, to me it begs a question - whereas with many computers, installing Ubuntu/Linux isn't just about completing the process with the CD, but also requires some tinkering to get everything to "fit" properly for stability - will this likely be my experience of an Ubuntu phone?

For all intents and purposes, I'm a noob. I don't know Linux well enough to do all the post-install corrections and such on a desk or laptop, so I'm guessing the same would be true of my success doing so on a phone if it were necessary. I've had the experience of trying to install Ubuntu only to feel like I'm walking around in a minefield, trying to keep it from coming apart at the seems afterwards. Ultimately, I love the freedom and aesthetic of Linux and Ubuntu and want to use them, but until I learn to really make it work, the prospect makes me nervous. Even if I were a highly skilled Linux user, I need my phone to *work* as well as it would with proprietary phone OS's. A 911 call can't wait for me to stop and deal with unresolved dependencies, public-key issues or any number of errors that may have (for instance) inadvertently disabled dial-out.

So, people knowing more about this than I do - what are your thoughts? Will Ubuntu Mobile be a much-simplified version, not complicated enough for stability issues? Is there just no way to know until it's been in the market for a few cycles?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Ubuntu Mobile OS Stability?