Thread: No sound when plugged HDMI cable.

No sound when plugged HDMI cable.

Hi.
    I'm a newbie and a Ubuntu 12.04 user.
    I've tried to solve the problem but I couldn't do it.
    My ALSA information is located there: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=ff...748303ae35b0c4
    When I go to System Settings>Additional Drivers that's what appears written: "No proprietary drivers are in use on this system."

Well, hope you help me. Thanks.
    Last edited by Edgar_Sarmento_Bezerra; October 3rd, 2013 at 04:51 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: No sound when plugged HDMI cable.

I use Pulse Audio, and for HDMI I do this:

http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu_R...ith_PulseAudio

In brief, I made sure that PAVU Control was installed (PulseAudioVolume):

sudo apt-get install pavucontrol

The I start PAVU Control and make sure Pulse Audio has HDMI designated:

PAVU Control -> Multimedia -> PulseAudio Volume Control -> Configuration -> Internal Audio -> Digital Stereo (HDMI) Output

There was a small quirk on my system: The HDMI cable had to already be plugged in at the time I changed the PAVU Control settings (or was it at bootup? -- I can't remember at the moment).

Then everything works ok for me. I have to switch it back if I later want to pipe the audio back through my analog (ALSA) card.
    Last edited by perspectoff; September 22nd, 2013 at 01:48 AM.

UbuntuGuide/KubuntuGuide

Right now the killer is being surrounded by a web of deduction, forensic science,
    and the latest in technology such as two-way radios and e-mail.

Re: No sound when plugged in the HDMI cable.

Quote Originally Posted by perspectoff View Post
    I use Pulse Audio, and for HDMI I do this:

http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu_R...ith_PulseAudio

In brief, I made sure that PAVU Control was installed (PulseAudioVolume):

sudo apt-get install pavucontrol

The I start PAVU Control and make sure Pulse Audio has HDMI designated: