Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learn Linux From Scratch?

Beans

Learn Linux From Scratch?

Hi, I would like to learn almost everything I can about Linux now but not entirly sure where to start. I've looked at many sites about learning Linux but now seem to be a bit overloaded with info and so not so sure where to start.

I understand that there are a load of careers and jobs that can come about as a result of being experienced with Linux such as Linux Adiminstration for example.

I did come across a site called "Linux from scratch" which is do do with teaching you about how to actually build your own distro. But I'm still not so sure if that's for me.

So do you guys have any suggestions for where you would recommend a complete beginner to learn Linux?

Thanks
    Last edited by jack21; September 17th, 2013 at 10:04 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Learn Linux From Scratch?

How do you learn best? Reading, hands-on, watching a video, listening to a podcast?

Find some old PC's (2 or 3) and load a different distro on each. Then spend some time on the forums to get answers to questions that will come up.

Load a server on one of those PC's and install a LAMP stack and some services like from here: http://bitnami.com/stacks

Linux is built on frameworks, so when you study a particular framework, your knowledge will increase. But it will take time. It might take years.
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Hi jack21.

I would not recommend that. I'd say install a server edition on VM or an actual machine, star playing with it and doing some admin work.

For instance you could:
    • Create other users.
    • Create samba, and nfs shares.
    • Grant different access to different users.
    • Setup a backup schedule.
    • Grant remote access
    • Etc.

This way you could actually get to do real useful tasks.