Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wireless Network Stopped Working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    59

    Wireless Network Stopped Working

    Hello everyone,

    I am playing around with Ubuntu Server (no desktop environment) 12.04.3 LTS.

    I set everything up and HAD a working wirless network connection.

    I then ran

    Code:
    sudo shutdown now -r
    And when the system came back up it hung on something like "configuring network interface / connection." I have never been able to connect again.

    I am somewhat new to terminal-only stuff, but I tried messing around with "ifconfig" "iwconfig" etc.

    I tried:

    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "MYIDHERE" key s:MYPASSHERE
    The terminal took it and the changes were reflected in iwconfig but I still have no internet connection.

    How can I go about troubleshooting this thing?

    I have "links" installed for web browsing and it is not connecting, nor can I "ping" anything.

    I am wanting to learn how to work in the terminal and do not have Gnome or KDE installed, so please let me know how to proceed.

    I tried googling an answer but I'm not sure exactly what to follow. I have seen mention of "dhclient." What is it and how does it work? Also, I tried:

    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    Just trying to reset the network adapter, similar to "ipconfig /release /renew" in Windows command line.

    Thanks in advance for the help!

    Blessings,
    Cody

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK Lake District
    Beans
    3,092
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Wireless Network Stopped Working

    A server running on wireless? Is very odd IMO.
    I usually install a minimal UI, even on a server, it's just easier.
    Ubuntu 18.04

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Wireless Network Stopped Working

    Hi ..after you did...
    Code:
    sudo shutdown now
    to restart do.
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    now..depending on what changes you have made..you can configure your network with..
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/netowrk/interfaces
    make any corrections...additions ..save ...close then
    do a restart..
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    hope that helps.
    Craving anchovy, herring and squid pizza.....with clam sauce

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    59

    Re: Wireless Network Stopped Working

    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart


    Thank you! This fixed it!

    Shouldn't this automatically run every time I start the server though? Why did networking stop, and how can I make sure it automatically initializes each boot?

    Also, I realize it is strange to have a server running on wireless. I am not using this server as a server. I'm just playing around with Ubuntu server because I want to learn it better.

    Thanks again!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Wireless Network Stopped Working

    Hi, more than likely,since you are NOT using the desktop server,
    the network starts on boot. you can see if it's running by entering..
    Code:
    sudo service networking status
    you may also want to make a change in..
    Code:
    cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    *Change managed=false ~ to ~ managed=true
    My server is also wireless,never a problem,but i use the desktop
    server and configure my static ip with the IPv4 settings.
    Have fun playing!
    Please mark this thread solved.
    thanks.
    Last edited by Hadaka; September 16th, 2013 at 06:15 PM.
    Craving anchovy, herring and squid pizza.....with clam sauce

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    59

    Re: Wireless Network Stopped Working

    Quote Originally Posted by Hadaka View Post
    Hi, more than likely,since you are NOT using the desktop server,
    the network starts on boot. you can see if it's running by entering..
    Code:
    sudo service networking status
    you may also want to make a change in..
    Code:
    cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    *Change managed=false ~ to ~ managed=true
    My server is also wireless,never a problem,but i use the desktop
    server and configure my static ip with the IPv4 settings.
    Have fun playing!
    Please mark this thread solved.
    thanks.
    Perfect. Thank you for the info!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •